We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as previous occassions...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
45 School St, Ste 1D, Boston, MA 02108-3211 (Downtown)
617-742-8401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Tremont
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous occassions...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been to Boston a few times and have eaten at Ruths Chris on a couple of occassions leaving the restaurant very happy with the food and service. This time when we went with our children. Although the service was excellent the restaurant is very expensive.
We would think twice before returning here not because of the cost or service, just the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    107
    48
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
king george, virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't Eat at ths one! Standards don't count here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been going to Ruth's Chris steak houses for years and this is the first time I was disappointed. The food good but not the quality we expect for the price.
We were seated and then noticed a group of men in basically T shirts. Then a couple sat down next t to us and they were wiring jeans and sweat shirts.
I complained to the manager but she said "we can't enforce a dress code."

The last time I checked Ruth's Chris was a company who can serve or not serve anyone they choose.

What a shame that Rut's Chris has decided to lower standards for profits.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This restaurant always participates in Restaurant Week with great enthusiasm, unlike some of the others who try to hide the special menu. The dinner menu was excellent value and included a delicious 12 oz steak in the $38 price together with a choice of starter and a desert. Not only that, they also offered a choice of 4 wines also at $38 a bottle to match the menu price. Great joined- up thinking from the management. The staff are really friendly and had no trouble seating us outside on the patio even though no other diner was willing to face the mild evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Ate here while in Boston a few years back. Not cheap but very worth it. The steak I had was incredible, so tasty it was unreal. The side of onion rings was a sight to behold, never seen onion rings like this! I'd definitely come back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Maine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Return trip as good as the first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to this restaurant and were just as impressed as our initial time. The setting is very nice, extremely attentive hostess and wait staff. Any questions are answered pleasantly and when undecided the waiter will offer excellent suggestions related to the god and drinks. The prices are as much as I ever pay, but only going to such places once in a while helps to ease the higher pricing. The steaks and seafood are second to none. Salads very fresh and tasty and the appetizers are a perfect start to an elegant meal. We will return and would expect superior service and foods, which is what we have had on two trips to Ruth's so far. Excellent!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.