We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toro

Toro
1704 Washington St, Boston, MA 02118-3307
617-536-4300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of the best restaurants in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Boston. Love love the food and drinks! They do not accept reservations, so you might need to wait a little for your table, but trust me, it is worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    80
    33
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanAntonio,TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Toro Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The food and service were great. It is a foodie destination spot. Not alot else to do in the area. It was worth the effort to go for lunch after a morning in the Boston Art Museum.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Eat before you go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had heard good things about Toro and decided to go there on a Wednesday evening. The restaurant does not take reservations and when we arrived there shortly after 8:00 we were told there was an hour and a half wait. Since we had walked some distance to get there, we decided to have a drink. There is no place inside of the restaurant for those waiting for a table so, if you order a cocktail, you must stand in the aisles and constantly move around the waitstaff and other patrons going to the restrooms or getting drinks. Since the restaurant is small, and you are standing in close proximity to all of the tables, you can see the progress of the diners. When we got there, there were two groups of 4 and one group of 5 who had been served entrees (paella). So we waited, and waited and after an hour we checked in with the hostess who told us that we were "right on track for 90 minutes. OK so we had agreed to that. But during that hour, those previously mentioned tables did not turn over, despite that none of those diners ordered additional food or drinks during that time... So either diners are just rude (the restaurant was clearly very busy) or the management does not attempt to move the people along. Our friend remarked that it was almost as if the restaurant was making the patrons wait on purpose to create the allusion that it is more popular. We were finally seated at 9:50 whereupon we ordered drinks and some tapas. The drinks came quickly, the first tapas were not far behind. The hot tapas took a bit longer, and as a previous reviewer mentioned, they make all of the same type tapas at once so you may get the empanadas at one time, but you will not get the corn until several other diners in the restaurant have ordered it.
Before our hot tapas arrived our server came to the table (at 10:15) to tell us that the kitchen had issued a last call on food and to ask if we wanted to order anything else. Hmmm wait an hour and 40 minutes to dine for 30. What's wrong with this picture?

As for the food itself. The tapas are not traditional as you would find in Spain and the portion sizes relative to the prices are quite small. The food itself was good and in some cases inventive, but not great. So, before going to Toro, decide whether or not you are prepared to wait an excessively long time for "small" plates of of food that are just OK.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Waitstaff does a great job of "interpreting" the menu and how this matches your likes and dislikes. Busy - busy - busy! But that is part of the charm. Very loud - don't go there for a tete-a-tete romantic meal.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great little tapas place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Inside was heaving. A very dark candle-lit room buzzing with locals trying to yell over the top of one another. Hmm, maybe not a good idea. An outside table it was, out in the cool air where we could sit and enjoy a bottle of Spanish San Clodio and nibble on a few tapas beneath the street lights. A rather large menu meant we had to be selective. Pinchos, tapas, charcuterie - there was too much I wanted to sample at this South End institution that has been going strong for almost a decade.

We didn't want to pass up the jamón de pato (9). Impossibly thin slices of cured duck breast scattered with espelette pepper and orange zest; so delicate that it virtually dissolved in the mouth. Pan con tomate (4) joins the set, toasted and topped with beautifully garlicky tomato with olive oil and sea salt. For an extra $1 you can add anchovies.

I personally couldn't ignore the mollejas (15); a trio of crispy sweetbread lightly glazed in blood orange reduction with peanuts, fermented black beans and a swipe of puréed celeriac beneath it all. Sweet, salty, sour. The tastebuds were jumping.

A tapas menu is bound to have a croquette of some description, so here we have the croquettas de bacalao (10). Salt cod fans can rejoice in the creamy innards and crunchy exterior; dunking away in the aioli and finishing with some tempura lemon rings. We couldn't quite get the flavour of lemon, nor the texture, which led us to believe it was a vegetable we're more familiar seeing in such an outfit.

Well hello there, panza de cardo (14), you sexy lump of crisp pork belly. The yellow street lamps may have drowned out the colour but they had no chance in drowning out the flavours. Things veered from Spanish to Korean with the inclusion "kimchi" vegetables that were basically like a pickle spiked with ginger, rather than the complex kimchi flavourings. A vermouth and carrot purée is there, as well.

Our final plate is the pato con membrillo (9); two smoked duck drumettes loaded with smokey bbq flavours. A sticky, sweet and tart quince glaze makes for some messy finger food, which is half the fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro also viewed

 

Been to Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.