We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if going to convention center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #43 of 77 hotels in Boston
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Excellent if going to convention center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

You can't beat this hotel if you are going to a conference at the convention center. There is a skywalk over so you don't even have to go outside. We were on the 15th floor and the view was amazing, overlooking the airport and the Boston Harbor Islands. The room was roomie and included a fridge. A microwave would have been nice but otherwise I loved the room. The indoor pool is great and we used it every night though I thought it was cold and we usually had to get out when our son started shivering.

The location is not convenient for touring Boston. The closest metro line is the Silver Line which doesn't go very many places, though it does take you downtown. There aren't many restaurants in walking distance, at least that we could find.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    565
    238
    80
    44
See reviews for
214
352
98
641
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We use this facility yearly while we are in Boston for business. The location is perfect for walking to many fine restaurants, entertainment is near by, easy access to major routes, and the T is a few short steps away. I love the upscale decor and the fact that the entire place is immaculate. I am never disappointed in service, it exceeds my expectations from the moment we park, at check in, through out our stay, and until the moment we leave. Small tavern on site provides pub type food, also a lovely restaurant with great food and service, but I love the open seating in the reception area with lots of seating for cocktails and lite fare. The view from my room year after year is spectacular with water and city skyline. Have used it many times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, even so long after your last stay! I'm delighted to hear you return to our hotel every year when traveling, and we look forward to welcoming you again this year. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked on Hotwire for around $200 per night. Pleasantly surprised to get this hotel. Great lobby, friendly staff and lots of parking in garage. Room was nice with comfy beds and mini fridge and microwave. Wifi was included in our hotwire booking however I believe it is normally not included. Parking is also around $30 per night. Starbucks in lobby and a nice Irish pub/restaurant also on site. The T (silver line) stop is about a five minute walk away but this line is basically a connector train to the others. South Station is about a 10-15 minute walk away and these lines will get you basically anywhere. If just going downtown/Quincy Market area it's just as easy to take a taxi right from hotel which is around $10. One downside is,there aren't many restaurants in area but other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your positive review of The Westin Boston Waterfront. We appreciate your business and are glad you had such a wonderful time in Boston.

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and especially happy you found our staff to be friendly and accomodating. I'm surprised you mention the lack restaurants in the area, as we are a short five-minute walk from Fan Pier, Liberty Wharf and Fort Point, all of which boast a variety of fantastic restaurants.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again should your future travels bring you back to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel through Air Miles, as there was nothing else available in Boston downtown for under $300! The hotel is located in South Boston, near the Convention center and it is brand new, so that in itself is an added bonus. Our room was fair size, with a desk and a lounge area by the window, with an amazing view of Boston downtown. I am very particular about my bed, bed covers and the pillows. This hotel impressed me with all three! The room comes with double set of covers and pillows. One set is filled with down and the other with polyester, for those allergic to down stuffed pillows and duvets. Between the covers are snow white bed sheets, laundered to perfection! The bed itself was very firm, so there was no motion transfer when my husband was turning.

Air conditioning was so quite, you could not even hear it coming on.

Bathroom counter had ample space for toiletry bags, and it was a little higher that standard height.

The only complaint was the noise coming from the noisy neighbors. I could feel the wall trembling every time someone in the room next door would sit on the bed. Fortunately, this did not last long.

In front of the Convention Center, they have bike rentals, if you're into street biking.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel for amazing amenities, rooms, proximity to restaurants, downtown and the convention center!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from elevators, as they have less traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review following your recent stay with us. I'm so happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and am delighted you were impressed with our Heavenly bedding...I'd have to agree with the comfort - it certainly makes for a wonderful night's sleep!

Thank you again for your positive review, and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again should your future travels take you back to the Boston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin Boston Waterfront had clean large rooms, restaurants, and a number of amenities including provision of gym clothes and sneakers if you wanted to use their gym. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. It's central location makes it easy to get anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay at The Westin Boston Waterfront. I'm delighted that you had the opportunity to stay with us, and were able to enjoy so many of the great amenities we offer. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently stayed at the Westin Waterfront, a gorgeous, modern hotel. Located in South Boston and next to the Convention Center, the hotel was a short walk to the Silver Line T stop but also a pleasant walk across Summer Street bridge to South Station. I had emailed the hotel in advance asking if they could accommodate my request for a nice room with early checkin as this was a special trip for my boyfriend and myself. The management staff were incredibly accommodating not only giving us a room on the 16th floor w/amazing views, but they also classily sent us a nice tray of berries, nuts and chocolate. This hotel is the epitome of great customer service. I have always stayed at Westins, they never disappoint. This hotel specifically exhibited terrific customer service from the front desk staff to the concierge . The gym and pool facilities were incredible!!!! Thank you to the top-notch staff at the Westin Waterront for making our stay so perfect and enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and are so happy to hear about your wonderful stay, and that you chose the The Westin Boston Waterfront to celebrate such a special occasion. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at the Westin Waterfront was great! Located in South Boston in the Seaport area, it was convenient to get to and to get around from. The concierge was very helpful in setting us up with fun activities to make the most of our one day visit. Having a Starbucks was a plus, as was the Natural Rain shower head and hand-held wand. The beds were pretty comfy too! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for posting a review following your stay at The Westin Boston Waterfront. I'm delighted to hear you our concierge was helpful in planning so many activities for you to enjoy during your short visit and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#32 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.