We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay especially before a cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #43 of 77 hotels in Boston
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great place to stay especially before a cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The waterfront in Boston is the place to be. There is so much activity and nightlife. The Westin is within walking distance of great waterfront restaurants. We took a water taxi from the airport to the hotel. Be aware, however, that it is a hike from the taxi dock to the hotel, especially if you are dragging a 50 lb. suitcase! I would inquire if the hotel shuttle would pick you up; I know they do not pick up from the airport.
The hotel is neat and well-appointed. The concierge was very helpful. We could purchase the hop-on/hop-off tickets from her and the tour bus picked us up just outside the lobby.
The Irish pub had good food and a very cordial waitress.
I would stay again without question,.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was delightful to read your comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    564
    237
    80
    44
See reviews for
212
352
98
639
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Westin. We were there for five nights travelling with two small children and even though most guests at the time were part of a large conference, we very much enjoyed our stay. Our room was near the top with a view of Boston Harbor. The hotel had a great pool and spa area and the breakfast was very tasty and a very good deal for such a large hotel (especially considering children five and under are free!). Staff overall were very friendly and helpful (although the concierge was a bit grumpy). They also held a storytime for children every day we were there but never managed to go because it was a bit too early if you are spending the day around Boston. It is a short walk to the Children's museum and a bit longer walk to the Aquarium with easy access to the rest of Boston (and the airport) via the Silverline. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for posting a wonderful review. I was delighted you and your children enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved the Westin. It was beautiful, clean, great space in the room, and a fantastic skyline view.

With the extreme heatwave Boston was experiencing, we found the hotel to be a bit far from the core. That's our only negative, and only because of the heat.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our property. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was here for a busness trip and on-site conference -- 4 nights in all -- and the staff could not have been more helpful. Hassan made sure I had the nicest room for my (longish) stay and Debra Hegger was extremely accommodating throughout. Even the chamber maid who cleaned my room was WONDERFUl (unfortunately I did not get her name). It is rare to find this level of service in any hotel today -- no matter how many stars and what the price - but I will say this place hit it out of the park! Thank you all.

Room Tip: Corner suites with a view of the water and airport are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review and for recognizing Debra and Hassan. We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service possible and Debra and Hassan have proved what a great team we have here at The Westin Boston Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The facilities were new and of good quality with excellent customer service! The beds were comfortable, the rooms were spacious and amenities were more than adequate. The food offered through room service was of good quality and the presentation was lovely. I enjoyed the personal pizza I had for a midnight snack. It was very convenient to be able to access the convention center via the walkway. The on-site restaurants were pricy but the food was good. The hotel is a walking distance to the waterfront and so was quite convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Rooms are fine if you are attending a convention - however, for a convention hotel to have only one restaurant (and a bad one at that) is not acceptable. There is a Starbucks in the lobby but it often runs out of food (not sure why they don't anticipate large groups when there is a line every morning). The hotel staff were okay but not very eager to help (I asked the concierge for the fax number and she sent me to the business center). Would only stay here if I had a convention next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While I was disappointed to read your comments, the feedback is appreciated and your concerns will be shared with the appropriate Department Heads to be addressed with the entire team. I hope you will give us the chance to redeem ourselves and consider staying with us in the future. We would welcome the opportunity to provide a more enjoyable experience for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed there during the great heat wave of July, 2013. Average daily heat index reached triple digits. Fortunately it was close to the waterfront and the staff was incredibly helpful in finding places and restaurants for my wife, while I was working at the hotel. The meeting catering was superb. An earlier review had mentioned a shortage of amenities, but we found that to be inaccurate. We did find a sign to hang on the door which requested no service, not "do not disturb". If the previous reviewers had put this up, it would explain the shortage of shampoo, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#32 Business Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.