We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Quiet, Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #43 of 77 hotels in Boston
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient, Quiet, Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Westin as we were traveling through New England this summer. It was very conveniently located--steps away from the convention center, less than 5 minutes walking distance from the subway, easy to get to. I liked that it was not located in the center of town. It was quiet, yet still offered many amenities. We enjoyed the pool and hot-tub while we were there. While we did not take advantage of the fitness center, if we had been staying longer, we would have definitely gone down to work out. It was quite nice! Our room was comfortable, the bathroom was quite nice, and everything was clean when we arrived. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, providing us a map and directions on how to get around the city. The Starbucks was also very convenient and we had breakfast there before checking out. All in all, it was definitely satisfactory and we would book a room there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your kind comments and hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    566
    239
    80
    44
See reviews for
216
352
98
643
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here last weekend as part of a trip to see the Yankees-Red Sox game, and found the hotel to be conveniently located close enough to everything (including the airport). Price was relatively good for Boston, the room was a nice size and well furnished, and the staff was extremely helpful whenever called upon. As I have become used to at Westin, the beds were extremely comfortable. I would definitely stay here again when in Boston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is close to the waterfront and next to the convention center. You can walk to the waterfront and the restaurants there but might prefer to take a short cab ride into the city. The staff was very professional, friendly, and accommodating. The deluxe room with a king bed was comfortable with a nice view of the water. The bathroom was very well appointed with updated shower. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a fabulous review of our hotel. We are very proud of our hardworking staff and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent two nights here for meetings and was wowed by the service and stylishness in a convention hotel. From the front desk to housekeeping, to the restaurants and catering staff, everyone at the hotel was delightful and very concerned about customer enjoyment. My king room on the Starwood Preferred Guest floor was spacious and immaculate with an amazing view. Buffet food for the meetings I attended was enticing to all of the senses, yet health-conscious, definitely the best hotel catering I've ever had. The Cruiseport is just a short walk to the north, and Logan is only a few minutes away by cab or the Silver Line bus.

South Station and the Financial District weren't that long a walk away either, and the dining and shops near the Fort Channel were a bonus to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the convention center and the city--the elevators move quickly, and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review you posted and for recognizing our hardworking staff. We pride ourselves on providing top quality customer service at all times and your comments serve to prove what a great team we have here at The Westin Boston Waterfront. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I hated to leave -

I only stayed one day, but the location, the service, the amenities were all top notch.

It is right next to the convention center (you'll pay a convention center tax) - excellent views of the city and the harbor.

Every staff person from valet to checkin to room service to bar was absolutely fabulous - helpful - genuinely wanted to make sure I had everything I needed and that all of the services were explained. I am usually pretty critical of staffing and attitudes - and I can't come up with one suggestion (complaint).

The room was clean, comfortable and nicely laid out - air conditioner worked too well (had to raise the temp in the room and it was 95 degrees outside)

Their fitness center was large - and staffed - so clean towels, water, etc were ready and available. Lots of machines to use (weights, cycles, treadmills, ellipticals ) and nice to have the TV monitors on the machines actually work (too many hotels don't maintain their equipment)

My ONLY complaint was the charge for parking was $45/night - that is a bit stiff.

I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review of our hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and for recognizing our hardworking staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I spent a couple of nights on business and also rented one of their meeting rooms for a board meeting (13 participants). The staff was very helpful and flexible and everything ran smoothly.

My bedroom was ok, although I still can't get used to not having a minibar - which nowadays seems to have become the standard in the US. Same thing with the internet connection, no wireless was available which is a real shame.
There is a bar in the lobby which is supernice and stays open until late hours :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel and for recognizing our hardworking staff. I would like to share that our internet pricing is based on the pricing that our competitors offer such as Marriott, Hilton, Fairmont and Hyatt. If you stay at any of those properties while here in Boston you will be charged similarly for guest room Wi-Fi. We do however, offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby of the hotel. I hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in July 2013 for 3 nights. The hotel is in a decent location on the waterfront, close to a collection of bar/restaurants that are very busy at weekends and close enough to walk into the centre of the city. We stayed in a queen room that had two queen size beds, this was an error in my part which meant one of the beds went unused as we huddled together into one so make sure you don't make the same mistake. The room itself was a good size and comfortable. There's plenty of room for storing clothes etc and a fridge for juice, beers, food too. The hotel staff were a great help for navigating the city. In particular one member Calvin was extremely helpful and enthusiastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and for recognizing Calvin from our Front Office. Calvin is the newest addition to our staff and we are happy to have him on our team. We hope you will consider staying with us for your next trip to Boston!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Business Hotel in Boston
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;