We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #40 of 77 hotels in Boston
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Boston Waterfront for a night to enjoy the city one extra night after business meetings and I'm glad I did. Although it is not located in the heart of the city it is still nearby. The concierge staff was very friendly and helpful when I asked about ideas of where to visit. I was able to take the Silver Line to the T which gave me more of the Boston experience and was near the hotel & quick. The hotel itself is huge, but well maintained and I like the modern feel to it. The room provided everything I needed. I went out for a night in the town and arrived around 3 AM, ordered a late night meal and it came pretty quickly and was tasty. Overall my stay was great and I would go back to that location and try other Westin locations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    556
    233
    76
    44
See reviews for
203
345
94
622
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

For me it is always about location. I need stuff near me. This hotel is really out on the edge for me in the waterfront area. I really didn't like the location at all. I asked one of the staff what was there to do near the hotel. NOTHING was the reply.
There was a convention going on in the hotel so the public areas were very crowded. Also because of this convention there was no buffet breakfast available ??? We opted to venture into Boston instead of going down the a la carte route. Nor we're we going to have room service with a $4 service charge 18% gratuity and local taxes thrown on top of that. You really are limited in this location as there are no eateries around. If you walk for about 20/25 minutes you hit Boston proper. Lots of places to eat there.
Also you will come across a huge Macy's. Remember if you are a non American go to the visitors centre and show either a passport or drivers licence to get your 10% discount card.
Anyhow all in all the staff are pleasant. The gym is small but good equipment. Nice pool also. The housekeeping staff are a bit loud and chatty as they go about their work and I kept hearing flushing toilets for some reason. The let down for me though is I really didn't like the area.$15 dollars in a cab to downtown Boston we were told by the doorman. Ok walk in the summer sun but in the cold and certainly at night I wouldn't walk around.
On the other side of the bridge is the local underground system ( the T ). If you need it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. While I was disapppointed to read your comments about our location, perhaps your next visit will allow time to visit the many attractions in the area such as the Children's Museum, The Institute of Contemporary Art and the Aquarium. There are also many restaurants within walking distance and many new ones opening in the near future. We hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto De Caza
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

just spent the night there on the way to cape cod. nice attentive staff and we ate at the breakfast buffet and it was worth it. ate a late dinner at the in house restraunt that is a better sports bar i am guessing but the clam chowder was quite good and the steak was done right as well. the service in the restraunt was excellent and the place was packed with hockey fans so it could have been a slow night service wise but it wasnt.

Room Tip: we were on the top floor and even the city view was a nice one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although you were only with us 1 night, I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for a recent business conference. I was a bit disappointed in the location, as the hotel isn't right downtown. However, I loved the chic lobby with an open bar, large gym, and delicious food. Actually, my colleague and I complimented the catering manager for the conference because we felt it was some of the best food we've ever been served at a conference or tradeshow. The red velvet cupcakes were especially delicious. The hotel seems pretty new. I've had really good experience at this Westin and a few others on business as they tend to have healthy food options (like the blueberry banana smoothing at breakfast) and large gyms, so I feel like I can maintain my fitness level and healthy lifestyle while on the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Why excellent price. I booked the room using Hotwire and could get at throw away price even in peak season...

Now, Hotel... Adjoining the BCEC, Its a nice place to be in , Great hude rooms, wonderful bathrooms and I was in 16th room with Sea facing room...

Only issues is, long walk from Lift to the room....

Enjoyed pool and Hot Jacuzzi...... has a starbucks inside.... OJ connerns Bar was awsome...

Great staff specially the concierge desk, Deb and Debilina....

Room Tip: ask for 16th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and recognizing our hardworking staff members. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront for your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arrived early, and were allowed to check-in; had to change rooms to two queens from one king. No problem for the front desk staff. Demagnetized our room key twice; no problem for security to meet us at the room. WiFi service was expensive in the room; no problem head down to lobby. Need to print a boarding pass; no problem, boarding pass printing is free in the business office. Price was expensive but not compared to other Boston area hotels. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the posting your review. I enjoyed reading your comments and look forward to your next stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hard to find any top hotel near downtown in summer for less than $200 p/night so I was happy to find this place through Hotwire. My wife and I had just gotten off the Norwegian Dawn from Bermuda and were given a room at 10am...long before the listed check-in of 3pm. We also found the quality of the beds/bedding to be top notch and very comfortable. Convenient parking below hotel. Did not eat at the hotel restaurants but Starbucks in lobby was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope your trip to Bermuda was fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Business Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.