We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only there on night but it was a good one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Coto De Caza
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“only there on night but it was a good one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

just spent the night there on the way to cape cod. nice attentive staff and we ate at the breakfast buffet and it was worth it. ate a late dinner at the in house restraunt that is a better sports bar i am guessing but the clam chowder was quite good and the steak was done right as well. the service in the restraunt was excellent and the place was packed with hockey fans so it could have been a slow night service wise but it wasnt.

Room Tip: we were on the top floor and even the city view was a nice one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although you were only with us 1 night, I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    595
    250
    82
    44
See reviews for
226
368
100
667
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for a recent business conference. I was a bit disappointed in the location, as the hotel isn't right downtown. However, I loved the chic lobby with an open bar, large gym, and delicious food. Actually, my colleague and I complimented the catering manager for the conference because we felt it was some of the best food we've ever been served at a conference or tradeshow. The red velvet cupcakes were especially delicious. The hotel seems pretty new. I've had really good experience at this Westin and a few others on business as they tend to have healthy food options (like the blueberry banana smoothing at breakfast) and large gyms, so I feel like I can maintain my fitness level and healthy lifestyle while on the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront on your next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Why excellent price. I booked the room using Hotwire and could get at throw away price even in peak season...

Now, Hotel... Adjoining the BCEC, Its a nice place to be in , Great hude rooms, wonderful bathrooms and I was in 16th room with Sea facing room...

Only issues is, long walk from Lift to the room....

Enjoyed pool and Hot Jacuzzi...... has a starbucks inside.... OJ connerns Bar was awsome...

Great staff specially the concierge desk, Deb and Debilina....

Room Tip: ask for 16th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and recognizing our hardworking staff members. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront for your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arrived early, and were allowed to check-in; had to change rooms to two queens from one king. No problem for the front desk staff. Demagnetized our room key twice; no problem for security to meet us at the room. WiFi service was expensive in the room; no problem head down to lobby. Need to print a boarding pass; no problem, boarding pass printing is free in the business office. Price was expensive but not compared to other Boston area hotels. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the posting your review. I enjoyed reading your comments and look forward to your next stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hard to find any top hotel near downtown in summer for less than $200 p/night so I was happy to find this place through Hotwire. My wife and I had just gotten off the Norwegian Dawn from Bermuda and were given a room at 10am...long before the listed check-in of 3pm. We also found the quality of the beds/bedding to be top notch and very comfortable. Convenient parking below hotel. Did not eat at the hotel restaurants but Starbucks in lobby was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope your trip to Bermuda was fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

- look at the photos, the evidence on how Starwood undercut this hopeful new hotel.. It's pretty much a holiday inn for the rooms. The gym and lobby are up to par. I think this property was intended for something else' see the steel closet door photo. Shocking they let this slide.

- low water pressure on shower and sink.

- no westin dream bed here.. 2 firm double beds.

- dark hallways no windows

- air conditioning only can be set down to 65 degrees

- barebones sums it up..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although I was disappointed to read your comments, Trip Advisor is a wonderful tool for guests to voice their opinions and we appreciate the feedback. I will share your concerns about the low water pressure with our Engineering Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Westin Boston Waterfront over the Memorial Day weekend. Upon checking in we were greeted by Matt Tomkewicz at Guest Services. During our stay we had the misfortune of leaving my daughter's prescription sunglasses in one of Boston's 500 cabs! With the help of Matt Tomkewicz and head doorman, Bill Currie, the glasses were returned to us! These men worked together to find the glasses so we left Boston with a great impression of not only the city but the hotel as we were able to enjoy our vacation after we thought all hope was lost!

All hotel employees were friendly and helpful from check in to check out. Hassan,a bellman or concierge (not sure) was courteous and another friendly Westin Boston Waterfront team member.

What a great property with friendly and helpful employees.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you provided and for recognizing our hardworking staff members. I was delighted to read your daughter's glasses were located and that you enjoyed your stay not only in the city, but here at the hotel as well. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.