We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problem...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join SPG to save 5% more
Ranked #38 of 77 hotels in Boston
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No problem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arrived early, and were allowed to check-in; had to change rooms to two queens from one king. No problem for the front desk staff. Demagnetized our room key twice; no problem for security to meet us at the room. WiFi service was expensive in the room; no problem head down to lobby. Need to print a boarding pass; no problem, boarding pass printing is free in the business office. Price was expensive but not compared to other Boston area hotels. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the posting your review. I enjoyed reading your comments and look forward to your next stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    522
    216
    73
    42
See reviews for
202
327
91
571
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hard to find any top hotel near downtown in summer for less than $200 p/night so I was happy to find this place through Hotwire. My wife and I had just gotten off the Norwegian Dawn from Bermuda and were given a room at 10am...long before the listed check-in of 3pm. We also found the quality of the beds/bedding to be top notch and very comfortable. Convenient parking below hotel. Did not eat at the hotel restaurants but Starbucks in lobby was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope your trip to Bermuda was fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

- look at the photos, the evidence on how Starwood undercut this hopeful new hotel.. It's pretty much a holiday inn for the rooms. The gym and lobby are up to par. I think this property was intended for something else' see the steel closet door photo. Shocking they let this slide.

- low water pressure on shower and sink.

- no westin dream bed here.. 2 firm double beds.

- dark hallways no windows

- air conditioning only can be set down to 65 degrees

- barebones sums it up..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although I was disappointed to read your comments, Trip Advisor is a wonderful tool for guests to voice their opinions and we appreciate the feedback. I will share your concerns about the low water pressure with our Engineering Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Westin Boston Waterfront over the Memorial Day weekend. Upon checking in we were greeted by Matt Tomkewicz at Guest Services. During our stay we had the misfortune of leaving my daughter's prescription sunglasses in one of Boston's 500 cabs! With the help of Matt Tomkewicz and head doorman, Bill Currie, the glasses were returned to us! These men worked together to find the glasses so we left Boston with a great impression of not only the city but the hotel as we were able to enjoy our vacation after we thought all hope was lost!

All hotel employees were friendly and helpful from check in to check out. Hassan,a bellman or concierge (not sure) was courteous and another friendly Westin Boston Waterfront team member.

What a great property with friendly and helpful employees.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you provided and for recognizing our hardworking staff members. I was delighted to read your daughter's glasses were located and that you enjoyed your stay not only in the city, but here at the hotel as well. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Westin to celebrate our anniversary. Loved it! The staff is very courteous, the place is in a perfect location...not far from all the eateries. The only thing is there's no waterfront.... The only view we had was of buildings but if your floor is high enough and you'll be able to see the water in the distance. Also, the bathroom wall could have used a good cleaning. Other than that great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was very happy to read you had a great stay. I will share your comments regarding the guest bathroom with our Housekeeping staff. I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is what you would expect from a business hotel: spacious room, well equipped, good internet, and next to the convention center (which is the reason why I think most guests would choose this hotel). It is a bit away from the city center (20 mins walk to financial center). Friendly service by hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. I was delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable. We hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront for your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I found this hotel to be comfortable, and quiet in my room. The rooms are standard hotel rooms with a couple nice upgrades. The king bed I had was outstanding, the shower although was a standard tub set up.. had a very nice rain shower head, and a very convenient hand held nozzle as well.
If there was any downside it was the furniture in the room.. The desk chair was very low and could not be raised, and the chair to relax on was very uncomfortable.

overall.. would I book again.. yes no issue

Room Tip: Not sure.. I asked for a room high up and I got one on the 5th floor overlooking the air-conditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the kind comments you had and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel
Westin Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Boston Waterfront
Boston Westin
Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.