We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, far from everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #42 of 77 hotels in Boston
nj
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, far from everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I accompanied my husband to a convention recently. He loved the location as h hotel was connected by walkway to he convention center. I found that it was at least a $12 cab ride to go anywhere. The hotel, even though it is huge, felt like a small boutique hotel because the service was great. The doormen, bellhops, maids and front desk all were friendly, helpful and made us feel special. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom spacious.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review. We appreciate your feedback and recognition of our staff. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    553
    233
    79
    44
See reviews for
207
345
95
630
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is on the outskirts of Boston. A cheap taxi ride will take you into the City or a fifteen - twenty minute walk. The hotel has all the amenities you can ask for and the beds are very, very comfortable. There are a few restaurants in the hotel itself and the seaport restaurants are a five minute walk. I don't like the fact that they charge extra for the internet and it's not cheap either, but I guess they have to make a few bucks when they can. The room price is right too, i would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are fortunate to be located in the up and coming Seaport District and there are new and exciting restaurants opening regularly. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hotels geared to business have increasingly tilted toward the airline model but without the low base price. The Westin Waterfront touts luxurious beds and I must say that they delivered big time on that. The beds are sumptuously comfortable - firm but not stiff, elaborate bed covers and pillows - perhaps the best bed on the road that I have experienced in some time. The room was meticulously cleaned (maybe a little more bleach plus muscle on the shower grout please). The towels were luxurious and plentiful. The TV was a nice HD model as one would expect. The room was reasonably quiet. However, virtually every other aspect of the hotel is geared to extract additional charges. Internet at $20/day with no lobby access is an affront in a hotel with this kind of daily rate. This reason alone earns an AVOID if you can and sets the stage for all other services. The TV has a cable connection that superficially seems to afford lots of entertainment but even old TV episodes streaming cost $ along with first run movies and the inevitable porn offered. The fridge is $. Moving downstairs the restaurants are pricey and the food incredibly bad. AVOID eating at the Westin. The downstairs Starbucks has the MickeyDee version of food and java - predictable but hardly a refuge. The one included in the price service - that is free - is the lobby airline checkin / boarding pass printer but even that failed with my airline which insisted on formatting its pass for a landscape sheet of paper but the printer was spot welded to portrait. The Westin is in the middle of no-where - that is across from the Convention Center but is long distances from any other vendors whether little things like coffee, bars or food establishments. Not a place to spend a few days without a car (parking is >$20 per day. Coupled with a tax the visitors add-on of 14.5% to fund the convention, city and tourism taxes. So like a lot of enterprises these days, it is all about maximum funds extraction but actually delivering a pleasant experience is a lower priority and hit or miss in totality. So the goods were really good but the bads were ridiculously painful so the result is average even though one would be tempted to downgrade much further for the annoyance. Others in the industry understand the word hospitality and walk the walk considerably better than the Westin Boston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While I was very disappointed to read your comments, we do realize that Trip Advisor is a valuable tool for people to voice their opinions and we apprecaite your feedback. It will allow us to to improve upon our services where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Even though the 2013 Boston marathon expo was moved 2 miles from this hotel, I still chose to stay here b/c of the great experience we had in 2012. The amenities are fantastic from the pool to the beds and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. When we checked in this year around 8pm, our room wasn't ready. Andrea, the Guest Services Manager, took care of us immediately while we waited for our room to be finished. The staff was on-hand wishing us runners good luck at 6am race day- a very nice touch. There's plenty of great food in the hotel and many restaurants with in walking distance. Also, it's a short walk to the subway & downtown. Because of this and so much more, I will definitely book the Westin Waterfront for the marathon in 2014!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel and for recognizing our hardworking staff members. While this year's marathon ended in tragedy and we continue to heal as a city, we are Boston Strong and look forward to hosting you again for the 2014 Boston Marathon which will be bigger and better than ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washnton dc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is connected to the convention center and is ideal for those working. The internet is horrendous so don't plan on work outside of the conference or event if you need internet.

The rooms are clean and well maintained; but, there was a safety strobe light in my room that made sleeping difficult. I am not sure of its purpose and I have never seen one in other places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We apprecaite the feedback and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stay here for three nights for a conference and the experience was very good: clean, large room and nice decoration. During the difficult time after the Boston Marathon the staff was helpful on notifying us what is going on (they reminded me the city is lock-down and ask if we need some help), and this is very appreciable.

The only downside is that they charge you $15 per day for wireless access in the room. Of course there are free WiFi in the lobby and the chairs are quite nice, but it is still not very pleasant to have to go downstairs for WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind comments you provided. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you want to be very close to Boston Convention Centre but do not mind mediocre service and not having a working TV in your room, this is the one. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Do not expect too much from the restaurant in the lobby

Room Tip: get a room looking over the convention centre, nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to learn you thought the service was mediocre and I would be interested to know why we did not meet your expectations so that I can get a better understanding of what happened and what we can do to to improve upon our services. My email address is donna.frechette@westin.com and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#32 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.