We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm a Boston Marathon Regular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“I'm a Boston Marathon Regular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Even though the 2013 Boston marathon expo was moved 2 miles from this hotel, I still chose to stay here b/c of the great experience we had in 2012. The amenities are fantastic from the pool to the beds and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. When we checked in this year around 8pm, our room wasn't ready. Andrea, the Guest Services Manager, took care of us immediately while we waited for our room to be finished. The staff was on-hand wishing us runners good luck at 6am race day- a very nice touch. There's plenty of great food in the hotel and many restaurants with in walking distance. Also, it's a short walk to the subway & downtown. Because of this and so much more, I will definitely book the Westin Waterfront for the marathon in 2014!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments you had for our hotel and for recognizing our hardworking staff members. While this year's marathon ended in tragedy and we continue to heal as a city, we are Boston Strong and look forward to hosting you again for the 2014 Boston Marathon which will be bigger and better than ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    610
    255
    82
    45
See reviews for
230
372
101
687
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washnton dc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is connected to the convention center and is ideal for those working. The internet is horrendous so don't plan on work outside of the conference or event if you need internet.

The rooms are clean and well maintained; but, there was a safety strobe light in my room that made sleeping difficult. I am not sure of its purpose and I have never seen one in other places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We apprecaite the feedback and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stay here for three nights for a conference and the experience was very good: clean, large room and nice decoration. During the difficult time after the Boston Marathon the staff was helpful on notifying us what is going on (they reminded me the city is lock-down and ask if we need some help), and this is very appreciable.

The only downside is that they charge you $15 per day for wireless access in the room. Of course there are free WiFi in the lobby and the chairs are quite nice, but it is still not very pleasant to have to go downstairs for WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind comments you provided. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you want to be very close to Boston Convention Centre but do not mind mediocre service and not having a working TV in your room, this is the one. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Do not expect too much from the restaurant in the lobby

Room Tip: get a room looking over the convention centre, nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to learn you thought the service was mediocre and I would be interested to know why we did not meet your expectations so that I can get a better understanding of what happened and what we can do to to improve upon our services. My email address is donna.frechette@westin.com and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Boston Waterfront during April vacation and to attend a Bruins game and the experience could not have been nicer during a difficult time for the city of Boston, as we arrived two days after the Boston Marathon.

The hotel is easy to get to and the city of Boston is very accessible from the hotel - walk, cab or drive. The lobby is lovely, bright and open. The rooms were clean and ample for our requirements. The pool and work out facilities were spotless.

Really, though it is the staff that made this experience exceed all expectations. From the moment you step from your car. The valet and luggage attendants were helpful and friendly; going above and beyond. Mindful of concerns you may have upon entering a city that was very watchful, given recent events. And each time through the lobby; exiting/entering the hotel, we were greeted with smiles, conversations and high-fives ;-) for the kids!!

Registration was so pleasant, I felt as though she was really, truly interested in where we had come from and why we were there! All exchanges with the Westin Waterfront staff from housekeeping, Concierge, registration, luggage attendants, etc. was just so warm and welcoming.

I will definitely be back to the Westin Boston Waterfront! I would highly recommend this property to those looking to stay in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our hotel and for recognizing our hardworking staff. We take great pride in providng the highest level of customer service to our guests and your review will serve to show what a great team we have here at The Westin Boston Waterfront. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

i have stayed here before and like this hotel. it is not downtown but ifyou liek to walk, it is a nice walk to the north end and downtown. the rooms are nice and comfortable and clen. However, the water pressure is low and the bathroom could use a shelf to put your stuff on so that it does not get wet. also there is no shower cap or boday lotion and i had to request. The staff is very helpful and the lobby is nice. the itnerenet connection it the room is exceleltn and the coffee maker makes the coffee nice and hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review. I have shared your comments regarding the water pressure in your guest room with our Engineering Department so that it can be corrected. I hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront for your next trip to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Its the best place to stay for a conference because it is connected to the convention centre, which is great. For the first two nights of the conference, I was unable to book a room here, so I stayed at the Intercontinental (about a 15 minute walk) before changing hotels to be at the Westin Boston Waterfront.

I must say, I was pretty disappointed. The lobby, meeting spaces, and hotel restaurants are amazing, but the hotel rooms are quite disappointing. They really need to be renovated. The Intercontinental rooms are absolutely beautiful and cost less (about $10 less a night, but still). Also, the Intercontinental included in-room wireless, unlike the Westin, unless you were Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest (I am a SPG member, but not Platinum). The staff are nice, but don't necessarily go above on beyond to create "guest experience".

If you're coming here for a conference, then this place is great, and again, its beautiful as a hotel, but the rooms, they need a face lift, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.