We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for a conference” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #40 of 77 hotels in Boston
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay for a conference”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Its the best place to stay for a conference because it is connected to the convention centre, which is great. For the first two nights of the conference, I was unable to book a room here, so I stayed at the Intercontinental (about a 15 minute walk) before changing hotels to be at the Westin Boston Waterfront.

I must say, I was pretty disappointed. The lobby, meeting spaces, and hotel restaurants are amazing, but the hotel rooms are quite disappointing. They really need to be renovated. The Intercontinental rooms are absolutely beautiful and cost less (about $10 less a night, but still). Also, the Intercontinental included in-room wireless, unlike the Westin, unless you were Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest (I am a SPG member, but not Platinum). The staff are nice, but don't necessarily go above on beyond to create "guest experience".

If you're coming here for a conference, then this place is great, and again, its beautiful as a hotel, but the rooms, they need a face lift, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    556
    233
    76
    44
See reviews for
203
345
94
622
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

From beginning to end top notch! From being greeted at the curb upon our arrival, to the checking out process, we were treated with the best of service. We booked online for the Boston Marathon at the last minute, not knowing what are accommodations would be like, definitley a must stay again!! Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff! The cleaning staff was very good with accommodating our requests as well. I would recommend to anyone staying in Boston. The location is close to restaurants by the harbor, close to the subway system, and a taxi was always waiting and available. We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. I was thrilled to read your comments and we could not be happier that you mentioned staying with us again in the future. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Westin Boston Waterfront is ideally situated for the next door conference centre. As you would expect with a Westin, rooms are modern and comfortable. Not much in the way of views, this hotel is primarily a conference hotel. During our conference the breakfast often required a considerable wait for a table and the on site Starbucks would run out of some items during the breakfast rush. Bars were vibrant and well staffed. The Westin Boston Waterfront could be recommended, particularly if you are attending an event at the conference centre.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was happy to read that your stay was enjoyable. I have shared your comments concerning breakfast and Starbucks with our culinary team for future consideration. We hope you will consider staying with us for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Boston Waterfront from April 3, 2013 to April 7, 2013 with The Eastern Area Links, Incorporated Conference. We were extremely please with the hotel, the front desk, the concierge, security and all of the other hotel staff. In all cases the staff was always courteous, professional, friendly, and accommodating; just plain nice.

In particular, kudos to the Security Staff. One day my husband left his eye glasses in the restaurant and, when he checked with he concierge, Security was connected and his glasses were retrieved. When we arrived home, we discovered that my bag with all of my jewelry was left in the garage. However, when we checked the caller ID, the hotel Security had already called. We spoke with Scott Regan and he was absolutely helpful and professional and he arranged to have the bag shipped to us via FedEx. We received the bag the following day. We truly appreciate Scott’s efforts and competence.

The Westin Boston Waterfront’s management and security are exceptional. Thanks to all of you.

Martha

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had and for recognizing our hardworking staff. I was thrilled to read about your experience and look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The people at Westin did everything I could hope for to make my stay a pleasure. I had some Connolis to the room and the staff sent a refrigerator to the room so the Connolis would not get stale. Things like this make for a grat stay. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was happy to read that your stay was enjoyable and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Westin Waterfront is in such a great location to get anywhere in the city by foot or public transportation. Less than a mile is the South Station where you can get both local and regional transit, Amtrak, subway and buses all leave from this station.

Really the only thing I missed was being able to get a healthy meal there. There was a bar atmosphere restaurant and Starbucks, but getting breakfast or a really great lunch wasn't possible here.

Room Tip: The convention center side of the hotel doesn't offer much of a view, but you are in Boston so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps you missed some of the amazing restaurants within walking distance of the hotel but I hope you will get to experience them on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I travel all over the country running races and I stay at different hotels but this hotel and its staff was unbelievable. The first thing I would suggest anyone do when they go to this hotel is walk directly up to the conceierge desk and ask for Sharon Ash and introduce yourself. She is the light of their hotel ,she goes that extra mile that you dont see anymore without expecting anything in return. She finds solutions to problems and you can see in her eyes and demeanor that she genuiely cares about what she is doing. If you need anything she will get it for you and do it with an amazing smile. I came to run the Boston Marathon,and when I got to the hotel my clothing had been damaged by the TSA,every piece of clothing was ruined, I had nothing, I was tired ,upset and frustrated and hungry. Steve from customer service sent up a gentleman to pick my clothes up and said he was going to have them cleaned and I asked how much that cost,he said to me "sir I will take care of that for you". I went downstairs and Sharon sent me over to her friend at Del Friscos where they treated me like a vip(even though I wasnt). I woke up the next morning in a beautiful hotel with a view,,wondering where my clothes were and what I was going to do. I called downstairs to find them and as I started speaking to Steve, I opened the closet and hung up and pressed was all of my clothing. I was shocked !! I have to say that this hotel is beautiful and clean and the one of the best places I have ever stayed just for the ambiance,however what makes this hotel a 10 is the amazing people that work here. From Steve,to Sharon Ash,to the security that made us feel safe,to even the manager of the restaurant downstairs that ran around trying to find me a blender for my special protien pre -marathon shake,these people are top shelf. Andrea Tidwell the General Manager runs an amazing hotel and I only wish there were more managers and staff like hers in my travels . Thank you Westin Waterfront for such an amazing expierence. I will be back next year to run the 2014 Boston Marathon and yes I will be staying with you.

Best Regards,

Mark Glover

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review and for recognizing Sharon and the rest of our amazing staff. We pride ourselves on providing top notch customer service at all times and your comments will serve to show what a great team we have at The Westin Boston Waterfront. We look forward to your visit next year for the best marathon in the word - The Boston Marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Business Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.