We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Westin. The nicest thing about my room was how quiet it was, and I was able to have a really good sleep.

The staff members were very nice, esp. the valet.

Two complaints: I always got lost going to my room. Signage could be better. The other was the price of using a computer in the business center. It's outrageous that you have to pay for that. It seems every hotel in America allows you to have free access to a computer so you can check your e-mail. Not this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments youd had for our property. I was delighted you had a restful sleep. I have also shared your comments regarding signage to your guest room and computer access in the business center with the appropriate Department Heads to take into consideration.

I hope you will consider staying at The Westin Boston Waterfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    689
    289
    89
    49
See reviews for
265
410
115
825
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place lives up the standards you expect from a Westin hotel, especially a new Westin. Very comfortable bed, good WiFi in my room, great lobby and lounge area with a Starbucks and an independent bar/restaurant attached to it. The workout room is really good. I enjoyed the state of the art treadmill every morning. The pool looked nice although i didn't try it out. It's attached to the massive convention center so if you are attending an event there this is the place to stay. It's a short taxi ride from the airport, just a few minutes, and an even shorter taxi ride from the Amtrak South Station in Boston's Financial District. On a warm day you could easily walk it. The only downside is there really isn't much to do with in a few block's walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. While the South Station T stop is just a 15 minute walk from the hotel and can take you just about anywhere in the city you'ld like to go, we are also fortunate enough to be located in the up and coming Seaport District and there are new restaurant and atttractions popping up within walking distance in addition to current attractions such as the Children's Museum and The Aquarium. I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I travel frequently for business. This time I decided to bring my 4 month old baby and mother with me (good luck to anyone else tempting this on a business trip!!). The pure fact that it was my first time traveling for work with a bunch of extra "stuff" made this a challenge and me out of my norm - the hotel was up for it! We were greeted by friendly bellhops, concierge, and a clean room. Not the largest room I've ever had at a Westin, but expected for a city location. We requested a crib and a refrigerator in advance and both were already in the room when we arrived. This alone amazed me! Walking accessibility to the convention center and a Starbucks on the ground level were really convenient. I used the parking garage all week ($35/day) and we walked several times to the waterfront for dinner. We never felt unsafe. Cold, but safe! Bring a wind jacket! All in all, the hotel was great for business and I have no complaints about our accommodations. We ate at the Irish restaurant more than once - good food, decent prices. Had a glass of wine in the main lobby bar (expensive) and the store for bottled water/snacks was over priced as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you had for our property. We realize you have many hotel choices in Boston and we are thankful that you chose The Westin Boston Waterfront. We hope you will stay with us on your next trip for business and bring your mom and daughter with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Westin Waterfront in Boston is one of my favorites when traveling for business. While it is not in the heart of downtown (so not great for exploring attractions), if you are working in the financial district or have an early morning flight, this is your place. It is a short cab ride from either. It is also a very nice Westin. Not sure how old it is, but it feels like a brand new hotel every time I'm there. And, if you get a room facing downtown, the views of the Boston skyline are great. The rooms are up to Westin quality and the beds are great. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Boston and look forward to my next stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read your comments and your feedback is appreciated. I hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a great time in Boston and the hotel was wonderful the rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable, (despite the fact that there was a conference going on while we were there) and we had a lovely view of the harbour. It was close enough to walk to the centre and the trolley bus tour stopped right outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your comments and hope you consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent two nights at the Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel from 11/16 - 18. The hotel is quite large and is connected to the new convention center. Although the hotel is a good 12-minute walk from the South Station T station, it is a pleasant walk over the canals along Summer Street. There is a bus extension that takes you closer to the hotel if you prefer not to walk as far.

The lobby was very hectic with business travelers and guests taking advantage of the free lobby WiFi. The check-in area was pleasant with non-standard free-floating check-in stations. It felt more personable and welcoming. We were happy to receive a room on the 15th floor facing east to the Harbor. The room was new with standard Westin furnishings, wonderful large bed, large desk and work space, decent clean bathroom with nice amenities and the famous Westin dual massage shower heads.

Although the room was otherwise very quiet, we unfortunately had an adjoining room where there were two small children. The doors between adjoining rooms allow a lot of noise to travel between rooms and we were awoken early the next morning by the cries and screams of the children. A phone call to the service express line immediately remedies the problem as we were given the option to move to a new room across the hall that did not have a door between rooms. To top it off, this room faced northwest, above the convention center and had a spectacular view of the entire Boston skyline. We heard no noise during the rest our stay.

Every service call was answered within minutes, if not on the first ring. The promptness of service was as good as I have found anywhere in the world. Although the area is a bit far from downtown, it is in a newly gentrified section of Boston that is full of exciting residential conversions, eating options, and museums including the Institute of Contemporary Art. Don't miss the Flour bakery for a great lunch or delicious sweets.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 12th floor above facing North (city view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank for for providing such a detailed review. I was delighted to read your comments about the wonderful restaurants and attractions in the up and coming Seaport District of Boston. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
235 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Staff is nice but the rooms are small and very expensive, plus they screwed up my reservation. I expected more and was surprised they charged for everything, it was as bad as the airlines. Would not stay again if not foe the convention center which makes the location great for handicapped and in the winter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read that we were unable to meet your expectations but do appreciate the feedback. If given the chance, we would welcome the opportunity to provide a more enjoyable experience for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
South Boston
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
South Boston
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,900 reviews
South Boston
Residence Inn Boston Downtown Seaport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Boston Harbor
Hyatt Boston Harbor
#32 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Business Hotel in Boston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.