We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, overly glossy, lacks charm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Boston Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Boston Waterfront to your Saves list
The Westin Boston Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Boston
WAYLAND
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Overrated, overly glossy, lacks charm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

In room internet was prohibitively expensive. Rooms were small and nothing special at all. Decent views depending on room. Restaurant was good if expensive. Great lobby, bad rooms. Better hotels for cheaper prices available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Good morning. Thank you for taking time to post your review. I'm terribly sorry if you feel we did not meet your expectations but your comments and feedback are appreciated since they will allow us to improve where necessary to provide the highest level of customer service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    611
    255
    82
    45
See reviews for
230
373
101
688
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and cannot fault the service. The concierge could not help enough when I had an issue with an external tour company. The bed in the room was comfy and I slept like a log, which for me is unusual in a strange bed. The shower was fantastic. Yes, the hotel is not in the centre of Boston, but within 10 mins you are at the site of the Boston Tea Party, and from there the city I your lobster. The area where the hotel is is up and coming with lots of places to eat, the barking crab is great especially after MvF. As a whole the hotel is great, and not as isolated as other reviews have stated, but they may not b use to walking for 10 MNS as us Brits. 1 more thing, the only let down come was lack of free WiFi in the room. There is free WiFi in the lobby, select city bar, but none in the room. Would def look to use again if ever in Boston.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

They have amazing service. My son got sick on the plane all over his blanket. Upon arrival at 11 pm, they took his blanket and washed it for him before he went to sleep. Absolute amazing service from the time we walked in, til the moment we left. They also had a toy box for the kids, that was a first in all my travels. Great room upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Txdelphia. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read that our staff was able to restore your son's blanket before he went to sleep. I'm sure it's soothing to a child to have the comforts of home while away and I'm happy we were able to accomplish that. I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We drove into Boston and spent 2 nights at the Westin Boston Waterfront. The hotel is great, with spacious rooms, large windows (ask for a city view, it's really nice), excellent service. I love the fresh feel of any Westin hotel and I certainly found it here. The location, however, is not great. I am sure there are options to take the public transportation into the city, but we moved mostly by taxi. The parking fees are outrageous , especially given the ample space around the hotel. Due to the location, we didn't find cheaper parking options and the bellman was not extremely helpful when I asked for suggestions in that regard. All in all, when I go back for leisure, I will choose the Westin Copley Plaza, without a doubt.

Room Tip: High floor, city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Good morning. Thank you for posting your review. As you stated, we do have public transportation and the South Station T stop is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We also offer alternative offsite parking for guests that choose not to park in the garage and I will share those options with our staff for future. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Typical Westin. Beds are comfortable, nice bathroom amenities. I still don't like that chains like Westin still nickel-and-dime guests by charging for a daily internet connection. I was here for work so I wasn't able to check out the pool/gym. Additionally, I was very unimpressed with the location (South End). It was a 25 minute walk to South Station and a $15 taxi to go from Back Bay to the hotel. There is really nothing worth walking to nearby. Unless you're staying here for a convention at the adjoining convention center, I'd recommend staying in the Westin downtown, which is in the center of the action.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Good morning Matthew. Thank you for posting your review. We are fortunate to be located in the up and coming Seaport District where there are many fine restaurants within walking distance. In addition to the South Station T stop which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, the Silver Line bus stop is directly across the street from the hotel as well and many of our guests take advantage of that too. We hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

And, you will never have to go outside! The HIVE is great for small meetings. Go see Jake in the lobby bar and he will take are of you! The rooms are nice and clean and the showed are double headed...nice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for recognizing Jake at Birch Bar. It is our goal to provide outstanding service at all times and judging by your comments, we have accomplished that goal. I'm also delighted that you enjoyed the HIve experience. We are one of only two hotels worldwide that offer this service as part of the pilot program and the feedback has been fantastic. I hope you will consider The Westin Boston Waterfront for your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with new, clean, comfortable rooms and generally good service.

The location has advantages and disadvantages. It's immediately adjacent to one of the three convention centers in Boston ("The Boston Convention and Exhibition Center"), and just over a quarter mile from the Seaport World Trade Center. (It's NOT near the Hynes Convention Center). And it's a 1000 foot (three football field lengths) safe but boring walk from a Silver-line T stop. That line runs between the airport and South Station; from South Station you can take the T anywhere. If you want an easy hotel to get to cheaply from the airport, and also want to be able to quickly get to many destinations in the City from the hotel, it's a great location. But if you want to be able to step out the front door of the hotel in be in the midst of a thriving city, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Executive Assistant at The Westin Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Good afternoon. Thank you for posting your review. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Boston Waterfront

Address: 425 Summer Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Boston Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel is located in in the waterfront area of this historic city. We offer convenient access to the Airport with plenty of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel Boston
Westin Hotel Boston
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Boston Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.