We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent program” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Symphony Orchestra

Boston Symphony Orchestra
301 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA 02115
617-266-1492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 209 attractions in Boston
Type: Concerts
Attraction Details
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent program”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The conductor was very young but amazingly talented. He will assume the title of maestro at the beginning of the year. Boston is blessed to have such a wonderful orchestra.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    33
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I love the Pops. Always fun music and special guests, I saw Vince Gill and Jason Alexander. Well kept facility.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Special Evening - great entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Easy to get to, comfortable seating, great performers - very classy and nice evening for me and my wife.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BSO scores!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We found two tix last minute..so lucky. This night of Wagner, Mozart and my favorite, Brahm's 3rd Symphony, was electric. I got to experience Boston's cheer for the newly announced conductor Andris Nelsons as if he were a Red Sox world series MVP! I'll go out of my way each Boston visit to hear the BSO. A tremendous world class music organization to preserve and enjoy!
New to city navigation, the Wonderland T brought us right to the door. Then the door was opened!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

For what is a very prestigious orchestra, I thought the tickets were excellent value (c.$40 for what I thought were good seats) and I liked the fact that the programme was complimentary (and also came in very helpful given the translations provided therein). The building is lovely inside, and I thought the acoustics were generally very good, although I did occasionally struggle to hear the tenor during the Mahler piece. The only downside I would note is that buying tickets through the website was a bit of a struggle (it kept telling me that the tickets I was selecting were not available, but when I did finally get something in to my basket all the previous tickets I had clicked on were in there as well, and there didn't seem to be any way to delete them without starting again), but that being said I would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Boston Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Symphony Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boston Symphony Orchestra to your Saves list