We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spot For Solo Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Robert Bistro Kenmore

Petit Robert Bistro Kenmore
468 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
(617) 375-0699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Petit Robert Bistro Kenmore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #274 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kenmore Sq.
Transit: Kenmore Square
Description: Petit Robert Bistro is a French Bistro open every day all year long 11:00am - 11:00pm. They feature an open kitchen on the first floor (40 seats), fireplace and wine racks on the wall. The sub basement has another 40 seats and the pastry bar (12 seats) where they prepare all their homemade desserts. The also offer a patio, which seats 15 guests. They offer a large selection of entrees.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot For Solo Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I travel often and end up dining alone. I dislike ordering room service, so I generally go out. I made a Friday reservation for one, which I am sure is not the establishment's favorite number on a big night. Nevertheless, I could not have been treated better. The Restaurant has a great selection of half bottles of wine, which allows a solo diner the chance to enjoy a good bottle of wine. the food was very good as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    61
    22
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty french food with real french people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Delighted by this offer of good European food and wine. Very peculiar being welcomed in French. Bill bit pricey but worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Food - Nice Atmosphere - Attentive Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a good French-style bistro located in Kenmore Square (convenient prior to a RedSox game or concert at Fenway. The food was good and the server was very attentive. He even brought a complimentary glass of champagne because he had told us there was no Burgundy, but was wrong!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average food but not so costly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went there for the birthday of my girlfriend and at our surprise our waiter was speaking french so it was nice for us. I take the rabbit & mushroom risotto and it was ok nothing more, but my girlfriend take the steak frites and the french fries was so salty that is wasn't good. The service was perfect, but when we say that we wouldn't take a dessert, the waiter immediately give us the receipts, so we could not relax and finish the wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Bistro and Great Food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Recommended by the staff of where we were staying, this did not disappoint for our first evening in Boston. Very nice authentic French cuisine, vast wine list, and quaint atmosphere made for a very nice dinner for my wife and I.

There were several items on the menu I really had eyes for, and my wife found a few as well, which is rare for her (a bit picky). We both had appetizers, which were very good, and then onto the entree's which were both excellent as well. To top it off we had a nice desert, which really sealed the deal.

Nice, nice, nice...all the way around. I love it when we find a place like this, and especially when visiting a new city.

Pro's:
- Authentic French cuisine.
- Great wine list.
- Prompt & friendly service.
- Quaint atmosphere - wish we could have eaten outside, but it was too hot.
- Incredible value - lovely french cuisine at a nice price point.

Con's:
- none that i could find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Robert Bistro Kenmore also viewed

 

Been to Petit Robert Bistro Kenmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Robert Bistro Kenmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.