We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Night of Entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shear Madness

Shear Madness
Charles Playhouse Stage II, 74 Warrenton St., Boston, MA 02116 (Downtown)
617-426-5225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 211 Attractions in Boston
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Discover for youself why over 9 million people around the world have seen Shear Madness, the uproarious whodunit where the audience gets to solve the crime. A mixture of improvisation and up-to-the-minute humor, the play is delightfully different every time you see it.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun Night of Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fun show; excellent actors; great audience interaction; a bar to boot. The theatre is small, intimate (cabaret setting), and nothing fancy. But the show will not disappoint!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Shear madness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

A great fun show, auitable for all ages. It is unpredictable and witty and contemporaneous. It is also improvised and spontaneous too. Have seen many many types of theatre all over the world and was delighted with this light evening of fun. And appreciated the obvious talent of the actors. Anyone who doesnt wnjoy this needs a personality implant

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If You Like Laughing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a different experience to how I imagined. The theatre is very small and intimate. Just four rows of tables. We were on the back row but still very close to the action. It is very funny even though some of the local jokes were lost on me. Although the cast must have done this for a long time, they still seemed to be enjoying it. The fact that it is a different ending every performance makes it different for them. The banter between the cast and the audience in the second half was wonderful and funny too. Two plusses, a free programme, (this wouldn't happen at a theatre in the UK), and easy to get a drink at the interval from the bar at the rear of the auditorium. A very enjoyable night at the theatre.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Great show, especially for groups!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had an amazing time! I am a maid of honor, planning the bachelorette party from Texas. The group coordination office was SO helpful, and helped me with every detail. It is great for groups because they incorporate details specific to the group into the show!! Every one of my 17 ladies had an awesome time!! We loved it SO much, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone trying to find something to do for a big (ish) group!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poinciana, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The first time Trip Advisor has ever totally dissapointed me”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Possibly the very worst theatrical experience in my lifetime. Not funny, not entertaining, mind boggling that this has been preformed non stop since 1980. Don't waste your money OR you time. Wonderful actors trapped in a boring, pathetic show. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone if the tickets were free. Thankfully they do not permit photos - would never want to be reminded of this very unfortunate evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shear Madness also viewed

 

Been to Shear Madness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shear Madness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.