We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Boston-South Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Boston-South Boston to your Saves list
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02115 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #68 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Berkeley CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good except out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

The hotel itself is new and therefore clean and well-maintained. Courtyard is a budget line of Marriott properties. Nice desk, bed, TV, A/C, bathroom, etc.

The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from the "Andrew" T-stop. Once there, downtown is quick. The restaurant situation near the hotel is inadequate. Room service from a nearby restaurant ends at 10:00 pm. We got to the hotel at 9:45 pm. (The food itself was way overpriced relative to quality.)

  • Liked — Comfortable room.
  • Disliked — No restaurant on premises and not much choice of food available in the neighborhood, especially at night.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    163
    58
    24
    12
See reviews for
114
91
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, AL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Excellent choice if you will be attending conventions at the BCEC. The courtesy shuttle saved us a good bit in taxi fares to and from the BCEC and the airport. Rooms are big and clean and the staff wasalways helpful. About a $10-$12 cab ride to other areas of Boston such as the North End and Copley Square. The Target behind the hotel was convenient to pick up necessities and snacks.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

This hotel was about a 3 minute walk to the subway; South Boston mall is behind it; rooms were very nice; hotel staff were very friendly; took a cab after a game at Fenway and it cost $13; would stay here again for sure!!!

  • Liked — nice rooms and location and parking right out front which is included
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester,ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

i got a great rate and was looking for a place that i could park free and get around easily. this was right off rt93 and the 3 treks i made into the city on fri night,sat and sun morning to the childrens museum, aquarium and harbor were very driveable.
the kids and i enjoyed the pool and work out area.
breakfast was not included with my rate but there's a nice diner in an adjacent parking lot and a grocery store right behind.
would have liked a microwave in the room but other than that, this hotel exceeded all our needs. would definitely book again.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — no microwave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We stayed at the hotel at the start of August. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. We had no complaints about the hotel itself other than the location. As two young British women, we found the neighbourhood wasn't good - even during the daytime. We were accosted by people regularly just on the walk to the T. We didn't feel particularly safe and it wasn't a great location for a holiday hotel when you don't have a car. ( We stayed later at the Holiday Inn Select, Government Centre, which was much better - It was central, you could walk pretty much everywhere and the Beacon Hill area was really nice too).

  • Liked — Clean, spacious rooms.
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

We recently stayed at this hotel for six nights and really liked it - especially the proximity to "the T" (Boston's subway line). It was about a 10 minute walk to the subway with two small kids in tow, probably faster for unencumbered adults. It is 3 subway stops away from a centrally located subway stop called "Downtown Crossing".

The room with 2 Queen sized beds was generous enough size-wise to allow our energetic 3 year old to run back and forth. Bathroom was clean. Trademark Marriott sparkling linens adorned the beds.

One thing we really like about the Marriott chain is that they are entirely smoke-free.

The only thing we didn't like about the hotel was the expensive breakfast - was about $12 per adult and they charge for all kids ($7 for kids). At other Marriotts that we have stayed at, kids under 4 eat free. But, there is a wonderfully divey diner nearby (Bickford's, right behind the adjacent Holiday Inn), which serves the best French Toast and is much more reasonably priced (although their coffee leaves something to be desired!).

  • Liked — Location - easy access to downtown and subway, close to highway
  • Disliked — Breakfast price/selection; only one computer available for internet access (always busy)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Boston-South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston-South Boston

Address: 63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston-South Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*GPS USERS USE 7 ALLSTATE ROAD, BOSTON MA 02125. The new state-of-the-art Courtyard South Boston provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests, featuring inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel & easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our location in “Southie” is located 4 miles from Logan International Airport (BOS), 2 miles from the city center and a heartbeat away from Boston attractions including Fenway Park, TD Bank North Garden, Freedom Trail and Quincy Market. We offer shuttle service to and from Logan Airport for an additional fee of $5.00 per person each way. For other options, Andrew Square Station is within walking distance and 3 stops from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Boston-South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Boston-South Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Marriott
Boston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Boston-South Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.