We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, go for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Top of the Hub

Top of the Hub
800 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)
617-536-1775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 420 things to do in Boston
Attraction details
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Overpriced, go for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Go here for lunch and the view.............. the food is mediocre at best- definitely relies on its view and doesn't need to improve the food. The dinner is really REALLY overpriced and not great but the lunches can be a good deal if you stick to appetizers/bar menu. It's actually quite comfortable to sit in the loungey area and look out at the view!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    85
    38
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went here for my birthday and had a really great time. I had a really great salmon with some graving that was awesome. We paid a reasonable price, considering we used the lunch combinations they offer (soup/salad, pasta/salmon/pork, creme brulee/cheese cake(or limon cake, don't remember) . The waiter was really nice and provided a great service.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Nice dress-up dinner with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a good dinner at the Top of the Hub, and enjoyed the view of the city as the sun set and lights came on. It is very popular and EVERYONE wants a window table; be prepared to wait if you insist on that. We sat one row back from the window and it was still lovely, good food and good service. I had a delicious pasta dish, and my husband's steak was tasty. This is a nice place to go if you want to dress up a bit and enjoy the atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great drinks, hardly a view from the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I decided to finally go to the Top of the Hub after having lived in the city for over a year. It's kind of hard to figure out where to go to get the elevator (a maze through the Prudential Center), but once you're on your way up, it's pretty straight forward. The hostess directed us to "stay between the TVs" at the bar, which wasn't much room. The view is really for those who are dining because the bar is in the center of the space and you can't see out the windows if you're seated at the bar. That was disappointing.

That said, the mixed drinks were fantastic. Great wine list, too. Bartenders were really sweet.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing View but Overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food is good, but not great, and a bit pricey, but you expect that coming here. The view is incredible. If you can, catch a table just before sunset, and watch the sunset over Boston dinner and drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Hub also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top of the Hub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.