We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 140 to your Saves list
Hotel 140
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our trip to Boston was to visit Emerson College so we didn't do much else but felt this hotel was in an excellent location for a Boston visit. We were walking distance to Boston Gardens, Boston Common, Beacon Hill and the Back Bay neighborhood, the theater district, many good restaurants and shopping. The AmTrak and T stations were less than a block away. We arrived well before check-in time and our room was not ready but they happily held our luggage while we explored the area a little. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Our room was small with a bed, small refrigerator, armoire, and one small chair, but we didn't spend much time in it so that was not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Cheri-inAcworth,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! I am pleased to hear that you stayed with us while visiting Emerson, a local College! Yes, we are in a great location in Boston, close to shops, restaurants, the Boston Common and Garden and many local attractions. Our guests love to explore the city!
The rooms are a little smaller than some of the other hotels in our area which is the reason we are able to offer more reasonable rates. Our staff is dedicated to great customer service, thank you for recognizing that. We have a luggage room where many of our guest drop off their luggage while they explore the city!

We hope to see you on your next visit to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    366
    154
    54
    45
See reviews for
110
400
103
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel and I couldn't fault it. This was my first visit to Boston and I was travelling alone so it was important to me to be in the right location and feel safe. The hotel is situated about 1 minute from Back Bay Stain on the orange T line and about 5 minutes from Copley Square in the green T line. Most if the stuff I wanted to see was within reasonable walking distance of the hotel, including the harbour district. I had a queen size bed in an immaculate room which was serviced every day. It was very muggy in Boston during my stay but the air con in the room was very efficient. There were also complimentary toiletries in the bathroom which was a nice touch for a budget-ish hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful (directions, assisting with printing boarding passes) and although there is no restaurant as such, there's a nice little Italian bakery downstairs which is open until 7pm or the is 'Flour' over the road which sells delicious pastries, salads, sandwiches etc. If I returned to Boston, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear anyname,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are in a perfect location in Back Bay! Our property is next to the Train Station and both Orange and Green Lines for the "T". We are within walking distance to many of Boston's main attractions as well as shopping areas and restaurants. Our housekeeping team works very hard to maintain our immaculate rooms and our front desk team is very knowledgeable of Boston. We are dedicated to great customer service!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

the 140 is all about location location location u can walk to all the shops and dining spots as well
the tour trolley is just down the block best deal in boston the hotel is clean and while the rooms are small they are very functional front end staff are great and check in out is seamless also the italian bistro off the lobby had great pizza and sandwiches and not pricey parking is available next
door at a discounted rate and u are right on the i90 rate are very good when u start to compare to the big chains the back bay is a great spot and u can walk to fenway park in 25 min

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ray t,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Yes, we are in a perfect location in Back Bay! Situated next to Back Bay Train Station, close to many shops and restaurants and main Boston Attractions. Our building is Historic and the rooms are smaller than the other properties in the area which is why we are able to offer such reasonable rates. The Housekeeping Team works very hard to keep our rooms immaculate and the Front Desk Team is dedicated to excellent customer service. Viga Restaurant is located in our lobby serving fast, fresh and delicious food!

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is in a really nice location. Everything us very walkable and the surrounding neighborhood is very pretty and nice. Lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Great breakfast place across the street. We needed to pick up a car at Hertz after our stay and this was just a few blocks on foot.
The building is pretty and has character. I really appreciated that. Our room was kind of small for an American hotel room and we had a lot of luggage. One side of the bed was against the wall. Room was clean. Housekeeping was very friendly (we saw them on several occasions and they always greeted us with enthusiasm). Front desk personnel was very friendly as well.
I wish our room had a better view. Now we overlooked a big parking garage. Everything was quiet though.
Only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars, is the price. Boston hotels are expensive. Hotel 140 was one of the best deals I could get, but still this was much more expensive then our hotel in Manhattan a week later. I would definitely pick this hotel again when in Boston though.

Room Tip: We were high and on the rear side. The view was bad because there's a parking garage, but becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Yamsterdam,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! Our building is Historic and has great character, each room is unique with different views of the city. The rooms are a little bit smaller than some of the other properties in Boston, which is the reason we are able to offer more reasonable rates in Boston. Our rooms are very quiet, I am happy that you agree! We are in a great location situated in the heart of Back Bay. We are close to shops, restaurants, Back Bay Train Station and subway stops. Our associates are dedicated to great customer service. They go above and beyond to make each one of our guests feel welcomed.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is located just next to the Copley Place (airport bus going stops there) and the Public Park and Boston Common are in the walking distance. Since I was on a congress, I appreciated the walking distance from the Hynes Convention Center. The room was big including bathroom and shower. There is also coffeemaker, refrigerator and microwave oven available in the room. The staff was very kind and helpful, but I was surprised that my room was cleaned up just the second day after my arrival and not for further 3 nights. The price was quite high but still low comparing to other possibilities in that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location can't be beat. Hotel room is on the small side but the queen sized room is definitely big enough for 2 people. Very clean (and I'm very picky about cleaning), comfortable bed and surprisingly quiet room. On the down side, the air conditioning is quite finicky (at least in my room) and I was either freezing or hot without changing the temp of he A/C. All in all, though, definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear kukiyot,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel 140! We are in a fantastic location in Back Bay. Our rooms a smaller than some other properties in the area which is the reason we are able to offer a more reasonable rate. We do have different types of rooms available as well. Our Housekeeping Team is immaculate and they work very hard to ensure cleanliness of our rooms! Our air conditioning units are maintained on a regular basis and our staff is always available to assist with temperature control as well.

We hope to see you again when you return to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location is what makes this hotel. The room itself was probably 3 star but was fit for purpose & clean. Bed was quite small but fine. There was wifi in the room & our room was quiet.

The air con wasn't great & the room got stuffy but this would be an issue if the outside temps weren't as high. I would stay here again because of the location but would not recommend if you are looking for a luxurious stay. We are at Flour opposite guck was amazing for breakfast & cakes & salads & sandwiches!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, General Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mezgaski,

Thank you for staying at Hotel 140! We are in a perfect location and I am thrilled to hear that you agree! Our rooms are smaller than some surrounding properties which is the reason we are able to offer a more reasonable rate for Back Bay. We do offer a variety of room types from Full size to King size beds. Complimentary WIFI is offered in our rooms and lobby. We have been experiencing very warm temperatures recently which may have caused the room to be a little warmer than preferred.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston!

Best,
Jonathan Arruda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 140, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.