We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, convenient, affordable, great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 140

Save Saved
You added Hotel 140 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 140
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 77 hotels in Boston
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“clean, convenient, affordable, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Aside from the adjectives in the title of my post, and what others have said, a few relevant things you might want to know:
- there is a Starbucks that opens at 5 a.m. 2 blocks away
- an amazing bakery/cafe across the street (Flour) doesn't open until 7 a.m.
- you get a discount for parking at the garage next door for $27 a day; it's only $10 if you enter after 5 p.m. and leave by 8 a.m. - great if you have to have a car for work outside the city area
- all rooms are not comparable. Mine was roomy with a very sufficient closet space, while my colleague's room down the hall was much smaller, no closet or desk or chair for the same price.
- they have a computer and printer you can use
- free wifi in the rooms works great'
- this place is a great find in an expensive city
- their website advertises "room key elevator access" which does not exist, so I don't know why that is listed. The elevators have no security access, but I never felt if was needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks so much for your detailed review. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    314
    126
    54
    45
See reviews for
93
332
87
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

If this place disappoints you, pay a couple hundred more for the Hilton. I’m honestly not sure what more one could expect of a hotel located in central Boston for under $300/night. The furniture isn't IKEA and this hotel is not a dressed up Day's Inn. It's really nice. I was pleasantly surprised. Pros: great, safe location (easy to find in Boston terms), clean room, well appointed, plenty of space, helpful staff, quiet hallways. Cons: Loud street noise but not sure that can be helped, not the comfiest bed and our “Queen” was more like a “Full.” I don’t consider not having a chain lock on the door a con (they’re more psychological than a true safety feature). There was $27 non-inclusive parking at a garage next door but the $250 room price and excellent “park and see the city” location more than made up for it. Hotel 140 is now my go-to hotel in Boston.

Room Tip: If street noise keeps you awake (like me), tray requesting a room without a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! We are glad you were able to take advantage of all that Hotel140 has to offer! We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was in Boston for a conference, and had reserved a room at a nearby hotel where the conference was held. The accommodations were NOT pleasing to me, so I walked over to the 140 Hotel, and asked if they had any vacancies. The front desk staff showed me some available rooms, and I was very happy to be able to switch! The 140 Hotel is clean, with very comfortable, updated furniture and the rates were very reasonable. I would recommend it to anyone without hesitation!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed our updated furniture. We take pride in our housekeeping staff as they continue to provide our guests with comfortable and clean accommodations. We look forward to your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I organized a trip for a group of french students, we were 33 people in total.
I've chosen this hotel for its location, rates and good reviews.
The day of our arrival, we had new requests and Steve and the housekeeping manager were very efficient and came up with a solution without extra costs!
If I had to organize another trip, I would definitely book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We always do our best to meet our guests' needs when they are in need of last minute room changes. I am glad that we were able to do so during your stay with us. Please come see us again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Conveniently located by South Station and close to half the price of other hotels in the area is why I chose Hotel 140, and I'm glad I did. It was perfect for me and my son while in Boston for a Bruins game. All we needed was a clean place to stay close to the Garden and Hotel 140 provided that. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of Hotel140's convenient location to TD Garden as well as our comfortable, clean, and affordable accommodations. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel 140 is excellent. We stayed there for 5 nights as part of a 2 week trip around America and found the service, room and location to be very good.

From the moment we stepped into the hotel I felt welcome and the staff were so attentive, fun and friendly. They checked us in quickly, and we ran out of coffee in our room one morning and they gave us lots more as soon as I asked which was great. They also advised us about travelling to the airport. MacGuyver in particular was a notably helpful and friendly member of staff.

Our room was beautiful - it wasn't too small at all! We had a good sized bathroom, (no bath, just a nice big and extremely clean shower), and the room itself felt bigger than many other hotel rooms. We had a desk and a chair as well as a set of drawers, a cupboard for hanging clothes and separate wall-hangers for coats, a mini-fridge which was good in size and a nice big comfy bed. It was all decorated beautifully and we couldn't wait to get back to the hotel to relax and recharge in the evenings after spending all day walking around and exploring Boston and the surrounding areas.

The hotel is in a great location with a short walk from the Back Bay train and subway stop - so really handy and cheap for getting to the airport and other places (we took a train to Rhode Island one day, for example). It's also a great location for walking around and exploring Boston, with it being walking distance to Fenway Park, the Prudential Building and other notable tourist spots.

We also got a great rate through Expedia, so if we could get that same rate again I would have no problem visiting Hotel 140 on my next trip to Boston!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing a little about your experience at Hotel140. We take a lot of pride in the customer service that our front desk staff provides to each and every guest. We are glad that you were pleased with all of the amenities that your guestroom provided. We find that many of our guests appreciate the mini fridge and the cupboard for hanging clothes. Our location can't be beat and it sounds like you were able to explore Boston while you were here!

We look forward to your next visit to Boston!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

5 friends and I stayed at Hotel 140. The main reason we chose this hotel was that it was within our budget range. I have been to Boston many times and wondered how a hotel that was so close to Copley Square could have such reasonable rates! We knew from other reviews here that the rooms were small and simply furnished - and they are. But what we did get was a comfy bed and reasonable sized shower room with free wifi and good quality housekeeping.There is very little wardrobe space so take this into account for what you pack. It was our intention to spend our time out and about in Boston so we spent very little time in the room and as a base for that it did the job admirably.

We found the desk staff to be friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The location is ideal for wandering round Copley Square and surrounding areas and as it is almost right next door to Back Bay Station - where you can connect with the T, commuter rail and Amtrak - it was a good point for travelling further afield. We found the staff in the station to be friendly and helpful too!

There are plenty of places to ear nearby. Tired on our first night we walked a short distance round the corner to Clery's ( details in the information folder in the room) and had what we know in the UK as "pub grub" which did the job very well. We treated ourselves to cocktails at the Top of the Hub in the Prudential Center a couple of blocks away and watched the sunset which was beautiful.

I would recommend Hotel 140 as a great base for exploring Beautiful Boston.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Director of Sales at Hotel 140, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Our guests always seem to appreciate how conveniently located we are to public transportation. Even if you are just taking a weekend trip to Boston, you are able to explore the whole city when you stay with us! I'm glad you appreciated the comfort of our hotel rooms after your days of exploring!

We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Hotel140 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 140, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.