We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Hotel 140 and feel like a Bostonian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 140 to your Saves list
Hotel 140
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
“Stay at the Hotel 140 and feel like a Bostonian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hotel 140 is a gem! It's a historic boutique hotel in the heart of Back Bay that will not disappoint. I have stayed there many times for business and pleasure, and every experience has been excellent. The location is terrific with the T, restaurants, shopping, and museums.

Fantastic location, exceptional customer service, and will not break the bank!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    358
    152
    53
    45
See reviews for
109
391
100
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

specially if you are coming by train, because it`s located just behind Back Bay Station. Easy access to Copley Square, Boston Common and Prudential Center. The bed is not to big, but we know it was a full bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The room was good but nothing to write home about. Dearly wish I had had a desk. Also, the bathroom was about three times larger than it should have been. At first I thought I had the handicap suite but then realized I had a bathtub that was not handicap accessible. Just a weird room I guess.

If I had another meeting at the BPL I would consider this hotel highly, especially given the relatively reasonable rates.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel 140 is fantastic value for money. Hotels in Boston in June are very expensive given all the conferences, university commencements/reunions, summer tourism, but Hotel 140 really stands out:

Brilliant location – right in the centre of Back Bay and within easy walking distance of all the key attractions and districts (eg North End, South End, Boston Common, River Charles, Copley Place), plus proximity to several T stations.

Lots of great shops, restaurants, shopping malls, tourist attractions, theatres, 5 star hotels all within 5 to 10 minutes walk, (including 7-Eleven, Starbucks, CVS, Shaws supermarket, the Flour Bakery cafe, to name but a few).

Incredibly welcoming, friendly, helpful check in staff (Anthalea deserves a special mention) – I was even shown to my room to make sure I was happy with it. They set a nice relaxed atmosphere.

Room was quiet; drinks dispenser down the hallway.

Whilst compact and with showers only, the rooms were spotlessly clean, with fridge, coffee maker, ironing board, air conditioning, usual range of toiletries. Excellent wi-fi in the room.

There are a few negatives:

No in-room safe.

The European boutique concept extends to include the pressure of the shower – don’t expect a power shower. The face flannel/wash cloth was like using a “brillo pad” – but you can always use one of the softer smaller towels instead.

A relative lack of power sockets around the desk area; a directory of the innumerable TV channels would be nice.

The fitness centre was out of action, though they directed me to the Boston Sports club 2 blocks away (fee applicable).

Lastly, if you take the T to Back Bay and have more than one case/a large case, contrary to the Hotel 140 web site, I would exit at the South End/Dartmouth Street side and then walk back around the block – this means you can use an escalator rather than stairs and won’t have to go through a narrow turnstile to exit the station. It is only about 30 minutes by the T to/from the airport, with the fare being $2.50.

I had a great stay at the 140 and would use this hotel again on any future trip to Boston with the greatest of pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

we had three rooms for a meeting and stayed for 3 nights, they were great. When we checked out we needed them to hold our bags until our flight and needed to get things from the bags several times, they were very understanding and helpful. Thank you! Athena gains was the manger on duty.
Rooms were clean, and location of hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here in june for 2 nights while attending a conference in the Fairmont Copley. The hotel is very affordable ( all other hotels in the area were relatively expensive) and just a block away from the main Copley square.
Location is fantastic, Copley square right behind one block, Prudential shopping complex to the left and many other main attractions in the vicinity. Lots of eating places everywhere that you would be spoilt for choice. Dunkin' donuts right next door and that bread place ( forgot the name :)....lovely salad!! ) are just few examples.
Hotel itself was nice, clean and modern. The front office staff are very friendly and unintrusive. Rooms are nice, simple but not very well lighted. Beds were comfortable though and i think thats what matters most when you are there for a short while.
If you are looking for someplace comfortable and affordable , this is the place to go but if you are looking for a luxury pad in back bay, do expect to break your back and pay for it somewhere else :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was so happy with the ease of getting to the Hotel. We went to Boston Garden for a concert and getting back was a cinch. The room while small was clean and very comfortable. We were able to check in early and the staff was so helpful. They answered all my questions and were very pleasant. There were a lot of great places to eat and shop. Well priced and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#50 Business Hotel in Boston
#54 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 140, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.