We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 140

Save Saved
You added Hotel 140 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 140
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 77 hotels in Boston
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The rooms are small, but you can't beat the location and price. Be sure to ask for the AAA discount. We took the subway from the airport to the Back Bay station, about 1/2 block from the Hotel. Also, check out the Lyric Stage Theater in the same building. We saw a great play there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    314
    126
    54
    45
See reviews for
93
332
87
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a Euro-style boutique hotel in a converted Y. I like to stay here because (1) it's one block from the Back Bay train station (2) one block from my client (3) reasonably priced in a city of unreasonably priced hotels. Clean, pleasant. No bar or restaurant, but there are plenty of those in the area. Be aware that the rooms are small - I wouldn't want to stay here with four kids. Fitness room was closed during my April 2013 visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Small room, but you're not going to spend much time there anyway. You're walking distance to anything important. If it is not close by, you can take the T to wherever you'd like within 5 minutes. Use the Back Bay T stop. To take you anywhere in the city. The staff was nice. Coffee and refrigerator in the room, so you can order food and keep it for the next day. No microwave, so plan to eat it cold. Perfect if you're not looking for anything fancy and just a room to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel 140 for four nights during the Boston Marathon. The location was perfect for easy access to the fitness expo and run finish. Especially after the frenzy of the bombings, it was nice to be able to walk back to the hotel after an exhausting run. There is a parking garage 1 block from the hotel entrance, and we did not need to use our car once we checked in. Restaurants, shopping, and historic sites are close by. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only downside is the size of the rooms. They are VERY small with only a bit of space between the bed and the walls. There is no closet, desk, or comfy side chairs. It was adequate for our needs, but a bit claustrophobic after awhile. The price was far less, however, compared to surrounding hotels, so we were pleased. Note: the entrance to the hotel has no ramp, only steps, so make sure you can easily carry your bags up several steps. There are no doormen or valets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from Boston from Apr. 17-19th for our 30th wedding anniversary. Unfortunately the timing was bad with the terrorist attacks but all in all we had a good trip.
We took the bus and the "T" (subway) from the Logan Airport as we weren't in a hurry to get to our hotel. For the 2 of us, it only cost $5.00 rather than a $30.00 cab ride, one way. The Subway station is right beside this hotel, so a perfect location if you are taking the T.
There are several restaurants around within walking distance and the Pharmacy and The Flour Cafe across the street. I read good reviews on this cafe prior to our trip and I must say the sticky buns are delicious and I would highly recommend them. Their coffee is good too!
The Boston people we found were super friendly and willing to help you anytime if you looked like you were lost and trying to find your way around even during a stressful time for all. They would go out of their way to help you.
The staff at the hotel, Steve in particular at the front desk of the hotel was very helpful and explained the trolley service to us. For each of us for a 2 day consecutive pass it was $38.00 each and an excellent way to see Boston. This also included a boat tour of the Boston Harbour and the Boston Tea Party so an excellent price for all the inclusions.
We also took the tour of Fenway Park which my husband was thrilled to see and that was an additional $14.00 each through the Trolley company.
For restaurants, our trolley driver recommended a small place near the Boston Harbour called Al's Sub shop. Wow, what a deal!! With a coupon, found on the trolley, for $5.95 each, we had a 9 inch sub of our choice, a 20 oz. bottle of pop and a bag of chips. It was more than enough for each of us. If you're not very hungry, you could share one.
Also, near the TD Gardens where we saw Fleetwood Mac in concert, a little pizza place was recommended to us as well by our trolley driver in "little Italy" on Thacher Street called Regina's Pizza. This place is 80 yrs. old with a secret recipe for their pizza crust. Amazing pizza and a very busy place with reasonable prices.
All in all, considering we had lock down in our hotel during our visit with the terrorists at large, we found our hotel comfortable and clean. The rooms are very small but you are not in your room much anyway. It had a small fridge in it as well and the air conditioning worked well. We were able to check out at 1:00 p.m. rather than 11 due to the lockout so that was very accommodating of the Hotel to do this for us as well.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would love to go back to Boston for a longer visit some day and be able to enjoy our stay safely with less police presence next time.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a King size bed as it is a small room so can't imagine what another room is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My mother and I spent 4 nights. We were very well assisted by the staff, which gave us clues of how and were to visit. We walked to Copley Square and the Public Garden. Had access to nice restaurants close by. We changed rooms after the second day. Both rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location of Hotel 140 is perfect. The rooms are tiny but did I mention the location is perfect? Carpet is worn but bedding was immaculate (the bedspread was white chenille). Getting into the hotel can be a bit of a challenge when dragging a suitcase and a laptop. When I asked if there was another entry aside from the steps on Clarendon St, the young male receptionist said he didn't think so. What about accessibility for someone who can't negotiate stairs? That's when another receptionist said, "We have a side entrance for handicapped people but it's really a hassle." Well, I had already dragged my suitcase up the stairs so I didn't pursue this. But, I think the hotel should be more sensitive to this issue.

Room Tip: These rooms are tiny and don't expect to see sunlight through the mini window that looks onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#44 Business Hotel in Boston
#49 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 140, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.