We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel 140 to your Saves list
Hotel 140
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #49 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the 140 for two nights prior to a NE/Canada cruise. Back Bay location is great, next to Copley square and subway station. We had two clean and comfortable rooms. The staff was very professional, polite and friendly. We really appreciated the front desk staff who were very informative and helpful with our daily activity planning and dinner reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    346
    145
    53
    44
See reviews for
107
376
98
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

By way of an update to my earlier in the year review, hotel guests should be sure to use the parking coupon provided by the hotel or available online for the 100 Clarendon parking garage. Without the coupon the fees are way over the top. We parked from 3 pm Friday to noon on Saturday and it cost us $64!!!! (we forgot our coupon) With the coupon it would have been $23. When I mentioned this to the desk staff they were horrified and even tried to call the garage to "fix it" but the garage said there was nothing they could do. Without the coupon, a "new day" starts at 5 am so we were charged for another day at full rate. This is my second bad experience with the garage so won't use it again. The hotel is still great, very helpful staff, clean rooms and very convenient....but if you drive there, just remember your coupon! Staff says they remind everyone as well! I am unaware of kids activities and there is no pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of a two week road trip. Excellent location, lots to do within walking distance & only about 50 metres from the subway station. A gorgeous listed building which has been carefully restored. The staff could not have been more helpful - they are a huge asset. We hadn't been to Boston before & they came up with good suggestions. Our room was a little small but everything was high quality & comfortable. Fabulous cityscapes from the higher floor windows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This establishment offers stunning Back Bay views, and is in a very convenient area... just steps away from one of the Old Town Trolley stops. The rooms are modern, yet comfortable, and the staff is always friendly and willing to point you in the right direction.
Hotel 140 - 1-866-451-1440 - www.hotel140.com

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Nice hotel. The rooms are rather small and quite plain, not exactly shiny but decent. What they claim on the website is not what you get, but nevertheless it's quite a good deal for Boston. The location is great, the view is nice. The only thing that I found problematic are the thin walls: you hear every single word they say in the room nextdoor. My neighbor was quite well behaved and watched tv at very low volume. Nevertheless I could hear everything. Luckily she turned the tv off quite early. Also, I could actually almost understand every word of what she was saying on the phone. The walls are reeeeeally thin, Not too pleasant. The receptionists are ok, but not exactly the most welcoming I have met.
You can't have breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Ellula,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad you found us to be a nice hotel and enjoyed the great location in the city of Boston at a great value.

We have been updating the hotel one floor at a time. The next time you stay with us, you may enjoy one of our suites on the upper floors of the Hotel. We strive to exceed expectations of all of our guests and will certainly utilize your comments to inspire more energetic service in our team. We hope you choose to join us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel 140 Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel was good for a stay in the city. I was booked here by a client I was meeting on business and it was a good place. The staff was very nice and extremely helpful; kuddos to the entire Hotel 140 team.

The room that I had didn't look anything like what is in the photos though. It had charm, but my room was definitely outdated feeling. Aside from a newer flat screen tv, it had very old furniture, fixtures, and linens. I was a bit surprised to see these outdated things given that the lobby and hallways (as well as online photos) are all so updated and modern.

The location is great right in the heart of the city. While you're in the center of everything, it is very quiet and relaxing here - you don't hear any city noise or anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear TravelorGuy,

Thank you for your KUDOS to our team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hotel 140. We pride ourselves on being a quite haven in the midst of the bustling city; a historic fixture with contemporary design. As we continue in our renovations while respecting the historic nature of the building, our guests will continue to find more updated and luxurious features in their rooms.
We look forward to your future visits with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel 140 Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Trying to find a reasonably priced hotel in Boston is a nightmare! I needed an hotel in/near the Theater District. This was perfect! I was able to walk to the theater, Newbury Street (great stores), and Chinatown. The short subway ride away from South Station was also a plus.
The staff was very friendly. The room was more than adequate, not five star, but clean and comfortable. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Boston
#48 Business Hotel in Boston
#54 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 140, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.