We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, family atmosphere in lobby. Excellent value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 140

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 140 to your Saves list
Hotel 140
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Goettingen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice people, family atmosphere in lobby. Excellent value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed 4 days for businnes. The entire staff was very kind and extremely helpful. The rooms are small but functional and clean. The rooms to the back are quiet and those to the front not too noisy. Individual heating/ air conditioning worked well. The room was equipped with an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, fridge, alarm clock. The internet was free and worked very well (both, WLAN and LAN available; a cable for LAN is in the room). The price is very reasonable for the location so that this is an excellent value. We had booked through the Hotel's website. There is free coffee in the lobby. A Dunkin' Donuts is literally next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    358
    152
    53
    45
See reviews for
109
391
100
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in the beginning of November in a room on the 6th floor facing Clarendon Street.

The room was very clean, although it didn't have a desk. The bathroom was huge, at least by my standards, and also very clean. The service was very friendly, and the bed was made everyday.

While I agree the room is not large, it is certainly big enough to stay in for the night quite comfortably. My room also had free wi-fi, ironing board/iron, refrigerator, tv, hairdryer, and great selection of pillows (both for propping and sleeping).

My only complaint is that the windows are not well insulated, so it let in cold air, almost like a breeze, most of the time. After a night I realized I did not have the room thermostat on, so that helped, although the amount of heat loss through the windows made it quite a battle to stay toasty. The windows also let in a lot of the street noise.

However, for the price I paid ($129/night) I am not complaining. It is in a great area and only a couple blocks away from my conference. I would be surprised to find a comparable hotel in the area at that price with the overall quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the windows are not facing a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend and I spent a week in Hotel 140 in October. We had a "superior" room, which I think refers mainly to the overall space. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious, and it was all kept spotlessly clean. The full size fridge was handy, and there were masses of toiletries and towels available. The furniture was a bit basic and student-like, but there was plenty of storage space. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the location is ideal for exploring Boston, being very close to two different T line stations and within walking distance of the theatre area and many restaurants. The only thing we felt the hotel lacked was somewhere comfortable for just sitting around relaxing, but that probably wouldn't be a problem if you're only there for a couple of nights. We were sorry to find the cafe had closed down, but Rebecca's Cafe just a few minutes up Clarendon St was a great place for breakfast. And it was fun visiting the theatre on the 2nd floor one evening and a great performance of the Mikado. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it as good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was my first time at Boston, so a friend recommend Hotel 140. Honestly, it was a great experiencie. The location is perfect, i just walked around the city. The hotel is very clean and rooms are very comfortable. Also, their staff is extremmly kind, nice, and friendly! Personally, I would like to Thank You Very Much to Ms. Katerine who was an excellent hostess. She not only provide me a great service, she also was thoughful and always attentive. Please, ask for her or Jennifer! I will definitely stay there again & again. I recommended to my friends! Outstanding Service! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent a night at Hotel140 and were very happy.The place was clean,our room was over-looking the John Hancock tower and had an old fireplace (non-working) in the room.Nancy at the check-in desk made our dinner reservations and helped with directions to the Prudential Center.All of the staff we came in contact with were more than happy to help us.Place was quiet,and in a great location for sight-seeing.We would return,and the fact that it is much more reasonable than alot of Boston hotels doesn't hurt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved my recent stay at Hotel 140 and will definitely stay there again when I am back in Boston! I had a brief trip for business but I wanted a nice, unique hotel in a great location. Hotel 140 met both of these requirements. The hotel is literally steps away from the Back Bay station and there are restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The building is historic - YWCA Headquarters built in the 1920's - and has a lot of charm. The best way to describe my room was quaint. I reserved a king bed, which was not available at check in, but the room they gave me with two double beds was small, but good. The staff were very friendly and accommodating - calling me by name during every interaction.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston-Hotel140, Manager at Hotel 140, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your room with two beds and that you were able to capitalize on our great location while visiting Boston for you business trip.

Warm Regards,
Hotel 140
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Wa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Warning: I canceled an October reservation for Hotel 140 in January and misplaced proof of same, then received an e-mail before starting our October trip saying they were looking forward to our visit! I called to cancel again and received e-mail confirmation. Upon returning from our trip I discovered an e-mail saying we had been a no-show and our credit card had been charged for one nights' stay. It took several e-mails and phone calls to clear this up. Be sure to keep any cancelation proof!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 140? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 140

Address: 140 Clarendon Street, Back Bay, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#50 Business Hotel in Boston
#53 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 140 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 140 is an affordable boutique hotel offering the best deals in the Back Bay. Our rooms are modern European in design, clean and cozy. Our recently renovated building, a historic landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places, also houses a beautiful lobby, function rooms, and The Lyric Stage Theater Company. Hotel 140 is just steps from Copley Square in Downtown Boston's historic Back Bay neighborhood - recently voted "Top 10 Neighborhood in the Country" by the APA. The South End's hip restaurants and shops are close by, as are Newbury Street's high fashions and fabulous dining. We're close to the Financial District, Hynes Convention Center, and other business centers. Public transportation is right around the corner at Back Bay Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 140 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
140 Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 140, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.