We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful venue, restored to grandeur is a magical setting for performances.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera House

Opera House
539 Washington St., Boston, MA
617/880-2400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 209 attractions in Boston
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Kildare
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue, restored to grandeur is a magical setting for performances.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I took two 12 year olds to see "Wicked" at the Opera House. We were in row H mezzanine, although fairly high up, it was a good vantage point. The building is beautiful, a perfect setting for Wicked. The girls were enthralled

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wicked Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The performers were spectacular. I was mesmerized by the "defying gravity" number. The sets, costumes and music were all wonderful and I can't wait to see it again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WICKED Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Opera House is a wonderful venue for musicals. I have sat in a variety of locations and have experienced good views and sound. While a bit pricey, the center orchestra seats are really the best vantage point for musical theatre. The building itself is a work of art and a beautiful setting. Most recently, the touring company of Wicked could not have been housed in a better location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent with small flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Saw Wicked last night, first time at Boston Opera House. Was blown away the by beauty of the building, truly incredible to look at. We had balcony seats, and it was still a great view of stage. The a/c is not the best, and many people were upset, with 3000 people in a small old building I guess it is to be expected, but would have been nicer to be a bit colder. Other issue is only 18 mins for intermission and the lines for restroom was ridiculous. Luckily we were 1st row end and got right in, but if you are not close to stairs or end of row forget it! Unless you want to risk it, and miss some of the show, they hold you for 10 mins before allowing people back in.Overall loved the place and would def go again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Stunning Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

- The Boston Opera House opened in 1928 and faced many hardships throughout its lifespan. If it were not for a couple of peoples' hard work and sheer love for the building this beautiful piece of our history may have been lost forever. I am honor to have experienced such a beautiful landmark that has been restored to its original glory. The love that went into this restoration is shown with explicit detail. You feel as if you experience shows and opera the way they were meant to be seen. It is by far the best theatre I have been to!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Opera House to your Saves list