We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful venue, restored to grandeur is a magical setting for performances.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera House

Opera House
539 Washington St., Boston, MA
617/880-2400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 430 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kildare
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue, restored to grandeur is a magical setting for performances.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I took two 12 year olds to see "Wicked" at the Opera House. We were in row H mezzanine, although fairly high up, it was a good vantage point. The building is beautiful, a perfect setting for Wicked. The girls were enthralled

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    28
    5
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wicked Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The performers were spectacular. I was mesmerized by the "defying gravity" number. The sets, costumes and music were all wonderful and I can't wait to see it again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WICKED Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The Opera House is a wonderful venue for musicals. I have sat in a variety of locations and have experienced good views and sound. While a bit pricey, the center orchestra seats are really the best vantage point for musical theatre. The building itself is a work of art and a beautiful setting. Most recently, the touring company of Wicked could not have been housed in a better location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent with small flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Saw Wicked last night, first time at Boston Opera House. Was blown away the by beauty of the building, truly incredible to look at. We had balcony seats, and it was still a great view of stage. The a/c is not the best, and many people were upset, with 3000 people in a small old building I guess it is to be expected, but would have been nicer to be a bit colder. Other issue is only 18 mins for intermission and the lines for restroom was ridiculous. Luckily we were 1st row end and got right in, but if you are not close to stairs or end of row forget it! Unless you want to risk it, and miss some of the show, they hold you for 10 mins before allowing people back in.Overall loved the place and would def go again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Stunning Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

- The Boston Opera House opened in 1928 and faced many hardships throughout its lifespan. If it were not for a couple of peoples' hard work and sheer love for the building this beautiful piece of our history may have been lost forever. I am honor to have experienced such a beautiful landmark that has been restored to its original glory. The love that went into this restoration is shown with explicit detail. You feel as if you experience shows and opera the way they were meant to be seen. It is by far the best theatre I have been to!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.