We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch buffet on way to Boston Common” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tantric Indian Bistro

Tantric Indian Bistro
123 Stuart St, Boston, MA 02116 (Downtown)
(617) 367-8742
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tantric Indian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #337 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Tremont Street
Transit: Green Line Boylston Street Stop Walk Down Tremont to corner to Stuart Take a Right on Stuart we are 3 doors down on the right
southern US
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet on way to Boston Common”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Not as much variety as some other Indian buffets I've eaten, but choices that were offered were good. Only 1 dessert choice, would have liked all white-meat chicken. Great atmosphere, clean. Would go back. Lamb excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    46
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Close to authentic India food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Not the best Indian food in Boston but quite close to authentic India food in terms of options, taste, ingredient, spices etc.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, OH
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed and way overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First let me say that the located is in Chinatown and next door to CPK and is easy to get to. The atmosphere was nice. That being said, we went to this restaurant based on reviews that we read here.

I dont know what kind of Indian food people in Boston are used to but wow... my entire family was UNIMPRESSED. We have been to a lot of Indian restaurants all over the US and we have very very good Indian restaurants where we are from in Cincy/Dayton/Columbus. i would put them WAY ABOVE this restaurant.

The food was average, along with the service. There was no flavor just tastede plain. No one in our group enjoyed their meal. Given this, i am further confused as to the reviews i have read by others for this place. u gotta be kidding me. i have read where people stated that this was the best or one of the best they have tasted. If so, then they TRULY dont know Indian food.

I wouldnt go back to this place and no one in my family disagrees with me

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian in Downtown Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

During a college tour with my daughter, we had a craving for Indian food and discovered Tantric. We were staying at the Hyatt Regency and wanted a place that was within walking distance. It was a Friday night and we didn't have a reservation. The restaurant was busy, but they were able to seat us right away. We shared the vegetable pakora appetizer and chicken korma entree plus a garlic naan. The food was delicious and the service was very attentive. The decor and atmosphere are upscale - this restaurant would be a good choice for a date, family meal with older kids or business dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Buffet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When visiting our son who is a law school student in Boston, he said he goes to Tantric often for lunch. So, we decided to give it a try. Nothing that a student likes more than a $12 buffet, so we were a bit leary. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was fresh and changed often. The place was also packed which is a good sign. Good choice, son!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantric Indian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tantric Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantric Indian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.