We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anything but authentic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tantric Indian Bistro

Tantric Indian Bistro
123 Stuart St, Boston, MA 02116 (Downtown)
(617) 367-8742
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tantric Indian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #339 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Tremont Street
Transit: Green Line Boylston Street Stop Walk Down Tremont to corner to Stuart Take a Right on Stuart we are 3 doors down on the right
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anything but authentic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Awful Indian food. It's apparent by the fact that no Indian goes there. Chef is lazy. The tikka masala sauce is undercooked with a tangy tomato sauce. Bell phuri is bland, and food is not spicy even when requested. Stay away!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    46
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoy Indian food and found this restaurant close to our hotel. We ordered the vegetarian special which was: tomato coconut soup, vegetable samosas, a choice of two of three entrees chosen by the chef, coffee or tea and a cashew rice pudding for dessert. We ordered lentils and eggplant for the entrees and asked for medium spicy. Everything was delicious and the food was spiced exactly to our liking. There was certainly more than enough for both of us. The special plus a glass of wine for both of us was less than half what we normally pay for a meal! The service was good, very attentive and nicely paced, bringing out the next course not too long after the previous course was finished. The decor is attractive and the ambiance charming.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable upscale Indian Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I really love Indian food. Tonight I dined at Tantric and was happy. I had Bhel Puri as a starter and Butter Chicken for dinner. The dishes were well spiced and fresh. It is a bit pricey for Indian food, but not overly so. This is a nice restaurant lovely decor and I would definitely go back again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good indian food at cheap prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It is a small restaurant located close to the Boston Common Park. For lunch it offers a buffet menu, and for dinner an à-la-carte menu. The menu has a wide variety of typical indian food at good prices. The portions are really huge and the service is fast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Best masala dosa ever, warm crunchy stuffed with tasty potato....great for south indian food in general.We stuffed ourselves silly with curry, and sweet breadtoo...We will be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantric Indian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tantric Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantric Indian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.