We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smith & Wollensky - Boston

Smith & Wollensky - Boston
101 Arlington St., The Castle at Columbus Ave., Boston, MA 02116-5306
617 423-1112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smith & Wollensky - Boston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #404 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $15 - $48
Cuisines: American, Japanese, Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Columbus
Transit: Arlington/Back Bay
Description: Eat like royalty in Boston’s most famous castle. Indulge your senses and sense of history with the unique dining experience of our Boston steakhouse. Located in a historic stone and brick “castle” built in 1891, the structure originally served as the headquarters for the First Corps of Cadets and is listed on the National Historic Register. The first floor gunroom, social hall, and museum floor have been converted to the main dining room. The castle also boasts an impressive collection of private dining rooms, and the fourth floor Battle Room is one of Boston’s most coveted locations for large parties. Create a memorable evening by requesting our “behind the scenes” tour.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Top quality food and service in a great location on central Boston. Wine expensive but again high quality.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    83
    62
    34
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staff acknowledged our anniversary and made the evening enjoyable. Raw seafood tower with a large filet was an enjoyable dinner. Located in an old castle

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Charles is the KING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, excellent food. Me and my wife went to grab dinner for q weekend fun and it was great. I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch with out of town friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We happened upon here whilst out on a walk and the service was fantastic. Attentive without being fussy. Good selection of wines and beautiful seafood - I had the prawns which were wonderful, light, meaty and beautifully presented. Would definitely come back for a more substantial meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Waiter was good, the atmosphere was cool and the food was okay. I guess I say okay because I expectes it to be outstanding but it was just okay. Dont vet me wrong the food was good but I've had better. I am a little skeptical of a steak house of this caliber that gives you a bottle of steak sauce to accompany your steak. Steak sauce on a $57 steak??? Who does that. Steak couldve been a little warmer also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith & Wollensky - Boston also viewed

 

Been to Smith & Wollensky - Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith & Wollensky - Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.