We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very traditional french bistrot near Mass General” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierrot Bistrot Francais

Pierrot Bistrot Francais
272 Cambridge St, Boston, MA 02114 (Beacon Hill)
(617) 725-8855
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pierrot Bistrot Francais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #335 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Beacon Hill
Cross street: Anderson Street
Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very traditional french bistrot near Mass General”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have lunch here a couple of times a year and it is always very pleasant. Food is typically Parisien and quite traditional. It is very handy to Mass General Hospital. Prices are quite reasonable. Service was a tad slow today but not so slow as to be annoying. Everyone enjoyed their meals and thought everything was well prepared and presented.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Right out of Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We saw reviews of this bistro prior to visiting Boston and reserved a table on a Friday evening in late March 2014. From the curtain covering the door to many of the menu selections, and the French wines, many not normally seen in the US, we were transported to a typical very good bistro in Paris or one of the other French cities. Most of the crowded room appeared to be locals and we certainly understand why the return. We will, too, on our next visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Vermont
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Straightahead French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We echo much of what's written here. The menu and presentation are traditional, the execution good but not outstanding. Beef ordered medium rare served closer to well, goat cheese salad with cheese that was lukewarm. The 17 oz wine carafe is also a bit odd but the wine is decent so it's a bit of a value shopper approach. As also mentioned, excellent bread. All told very pleasant and worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Country French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stumbled across this little gem located on Cambridge St near the bridge. A bitter cold night spend in a warm country French restaurant was priceless. The staff was warm and friendly but did not hang all over us. The menu is a single page with a few nightly specials. I had chicken thighs cooked in a wine reduction sauce that melted in my mouth. The three other dishes were well received and nothing was left on our plates. We enjoyed a simple but delicious French Pinot Noir. My son ordered a cappuccino after dinner. Said it was the best he had ever tasted; he lived in Florence, Italy for 6 months. Delicious food, tasty wine, comfortable and warm staff, all at a great value. Do not miss this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Did not honor a confirmed booking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Pierrot Bistrot Francais accepted my reservation for three people at 21.15 but when I arrived with my guests from the South End at 21.10 the lady in the restaurant abruptly advised us that they had decided to send the chefs home and close the restaurant. Any restaurant that does this does this should be shunned by customers. Disgraceful behaviour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierrot Bistrot Francais also viewed

 

Been to Pierrot Bistrot Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierrot Bistrot Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.