We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! I wish I'd known sooner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
63 Salem St, Ste 1, Boston, MA 02113-2289 (North End)
617-742-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 2,855 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“OMG! I wish I'd known sooner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

So I was in Boston for a week with a bunch of teachers getting in deep for colonial history and didn't get around to this restaurant until my last day. I am filled with regret. I had two glasses of a very nice Muscadet, 10 oysters and the daily special, a striper bass served on baby vegetables with an orange and crab topping and corn puree -- spent $88 plus tip and it was worth every penny. The best meal of a trip filled with good fish and great oysters. Don't think, however, that you're going to check in with more than two people. This place takes no reservations and you get a table when one opens up, but I eat alone quite often, being a solo traveler, and I suppose my bank account is grateful I didn't find this jewel earlier in my stay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    195
    50
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
woodstock, ny
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not sure worth 11/2 hour wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Dont get me wrong, the lobster rolls are really good. I had warm one and bf had cold one. Both were really good. I preferred the warm with butter and he preferred the cold lobster salad one. Gotta say, the fries are awesome. Best part for me. Fried clams were okay and chilled crab was okay. Factor in 11/2 hour wait to get in, then 10 minute wait to get menu, and sitting in close quarters with little AC on pretty warm day. Oh yea and not super friendly service........equals 3 stars from me. Gotta be an easier way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lucked in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Neptune Oyster was considered a must do with all the raving reviews from everywhere. First time in the north end we saw long lineups and had no desire to wait. Stopped there at lunchtime while walking the Freedom Trail. We saw a lineup and thought we'd have to give it a pass but decided to see how long. Well, we lucked out - it hadn't yet opened and after parking friend at back of line I went to check out the front and the doors just opened. We got a fabulous seat at the bar facing the windows and watched the server shuck the oysters and prepare the platters.

Ordered wine, oysters and steamed clams. The oysters were delicious and oh so fresh, we could see the freshness and beauty of the bivalves as we watched the shucker prepare the orders. My steamed clams were delicious but the broth was way too salty so I left it behind.

This place filled up very quickly. I looked at other people's food and everything looks delicious, will be back next time in Boston.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Boston's Best Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Neptune's specialty is oysters--and they are delicious--but I would strongly recommend a special trip there for their lobster roll. At $27, it's pricey, but definitely worth the money. You get a generous portion of lobster, as you should at that price, with an excellent side order of fries. The place is cramped and crowded, but in a charming sort of way. Also a great place for any oyster snob--at least a dozen different varieties are on the menu each day. Be prepared to wait for a table, but singles can usually find a seat at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greatness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

First, this is a really small place. Second, it is expensive. Third, eat there if you like oysters and seafood. I hear the wait there can get pretty bad. We got on the list, and went across the street for drinks instead of waiting on the street for our table. We had the sampler of different raw oysters, which was fun and different.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.