We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucked in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
63 Salem St, Ste 1, Boston, MA 02113-2289 (North End)
617-742-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 2,823 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lucked in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Neptune Oyster was considered a must do with all the raving reviews from everywhere. First time in the north end we saw long lineups and had no desire to wait. Stopped there at lunchtime while walking the Freedom Trail. We saw a lineup and thought we'd have to give it a pass but decided to see how long. Well, we lucked out - it hadn't yet opened and after parking friend at back of line I went to check out the front and the doors just opened. We got a fabulous seat at the bar facing the windows and watched the server shuck the oysters and prepare the platters.

Ordered wine, oysters and steamed clams. The oysters were delicious and oh so fresh, we could see the freshness and beauty of the bivalves as we watched the shucker prepare the orders. My steamed clams were delicious but the broth was way too salty so I left it behind.

This place filled up very quickly. I looked at other people's food and everything looks delicious, will be back next time in Boston.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    183
    47
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Boston's Best Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Neptune's specialty is oysters--and they are delicious--but I would strongly recommend a special trip there for their lobster roll. At $27, it's pricey, but definitely worth the money. You get a generous portion of lobster, as you should at that price, with an excellent side order of fries. The place is cramped and crowded, but in a charming sort of way. Also a great place for any oyster snob--at least a dozen different varieties are on the menu each day. Be prepared to wait for a table, but singles can usually find a seat at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greatness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

First, this is a really small place. Second, it is expensive. Third, eat there if you like oysters and seafood. I hear the wait there can get pretty bad. We got on the list, and went across the street for drinks instead of waiting on the street for our table. We had the sampler of different raw oysters, which was fun and different.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Long wait but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I don't like waiting in line to get into a restaurant, especially outside when it is over 90 degrees! However, once inside, it is everything people say it is. Excellent lobster rolls. Great salad and great fries. Interesting wine list.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hot lobster roll and neptunes on piggy back are always worth the wait! Go here now, and expect to wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.