We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little "hole in the wall" oyster bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
63 Salem St, Ste 1, Boston, MA 02113-2289 (North End)
617-742-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,994 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North End
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice little "hole in the wall" oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

TINY restaurant that is hard to find. Delicious oysters and clams. Yummy lobster rolls....tons of meat! Disappointed in clam chowder. Super thin consistency and lacking much flavor. Very cramped quarters. Great server.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nashnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Billings MT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elbow Room & Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food at Neptunes was excellent. Small with a dozen tables. Seating is very close together a four top table can be utilized as two two tops for two parties, food is definitley worth the wait they dont take reservations
Service was a little shaky, but I would go there again maybe the waitress was having a bad day

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bizzy4424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for oysters, but save your money on drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This seafood restaurant has fantastic food. The oyster selection when I went was great, fresh, and delicious. I had the lobster roll (hot with butter, people!) which was succulent and huge. The place is a bit pricey for food and drink, but you can mitigate that by not drinking. I had a locally bottled beer here, and the price was a bit excessive.

Overall, if you are careful on the menu - i.e. only going for oysters or a quick bite - then you could get out of there for under $35 per person. This quickly climbs if you purchase a bit of everything. And steer clear of the alcohol.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blakalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wait for a table. You want to eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I never realized what oysters were supposed to taste like. Being from Atlanta, it is hard to find anything but Gulf oysters, which I have always loved, but now pale in comparison to what I have experienced. Neptune serves a variety of seafood, all amazing I am sure. We tried different kinds of cold water oysters, clam chowder, and a hot lobster roll. If you have never had a hot lobster roll, it's time. I thought I didn't particularly like lobster, really. Not anymore. Anyway, they are apparently always packed, but I guess we hit it just right. We walked in and found two seats by the door. I did not know how lucky I was going to be that day, but here we are. Do yourself a favor; wait for a table and splurge a little. You won't regret it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nibs018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best seafood places in North side.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Definetly one of the beat places for sea food. It is off the main street and as in many cases is a better option then those on the main shopping street. Very cosy and friendly atmosphere. Awesome lobster-roll. It was one of the reccomendations from a Boston man and is definetly an awesome place. The prices are normal, meaning food is not overpriced.

If you plan one day bisit to north-side thos is a place to eat a good meal!

Helpful?
1 Thank Evghenii S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Neptune Oyster also viewed

 

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing