We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little "hole in the wall" oyster bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
63 Salem St, Ste 1, Boston, MA 02113-2289 (North End)
617-742-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,831 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice little "hole in the wall" oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

TINY restaurant that is hard to find. Delicious oysters and clams. Yummy lobster rolls....tons of meat! Disappointed in clam chowder. Super thin consistency and lacking much flavor. Very cramped quarters. Great server.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    187
    47
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billings MT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elbow Room & Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food at Neptunes was excellent. Small with a dozen tables. Seating is very close together a four top table can be utilized as two two tops for two parties, food is definitley worth the wait they dont take reservations
Service was a little shaky, but I would go there again maybe the waitress was having a bad day

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for oysters, but save your money on drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This seafood restaurant has fantastic food. The oyster selection when I went was great, fresh, and delicious. I had the lobster roll (hot with butter, people!) which was succulent and huge. The place is a bit pricey for food and drink, but you can mitigate that by not drinking. I had a locally bottled beer here, and the price was a bit excessive.

Overall, if you are careful on the menu - i.e. only going for oysters or a quick bite - then you could get out of there for under $35 per person. This quickly climbs if you purchase a bit of everything. And steer clear of the alcohol.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wait for a table. You want to eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I never realized what oysters were supposed to taste like. Being from Atlanta, it is hard to find anything but Gulf oysters, which I have always loved, but now pale in comparison to what I have experienced. Neptune serves a variety of seafood, all amazing I am sure. We tried different kinds of cold water oysters, clam chowder, and a hot lobster roll. If you have never had a hot lobster roll, it's time. I thought I didn't particularly like lobster, really. Not anymore. Anyway, they are apparently always packed, but I guess we hit it just right. We walked in and found two seats by the door. I did not know how lucky I was going to be that day, but here we are. Do yourself a favor; wait for a table and splurge a little. You won't regret it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best seafood places in North side.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Definetly one of the beat places for sea food. It is off the main street and as in many cases is a better option then those on the main shopping street. Very cosy and friendly atmosphere. Awesome lobster-roll. It was one of the reccomendations from a Boston man and is definetly an awesome place. The prices are normal, meaning food is not overpriced.

If you plan one day bisit to north-side thos is a place to eat a good meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.