We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally some awesome oysters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Oyster

Neptune Oyster
63 Salem St, Ste 1, Boston, MA 02113-2289 (North End)
617-742-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 2,817 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $21 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: North End
Littleton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Finally some awesome oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

FINALLY!!! We have tried at least a half dozen times to get into Neptune's either for lunch or dinner. Usually the wait has been at least an hour and sometimes Two!! We generally do not care to wait that long when we are hungry. Just happened to be a blustery and wet Thursday when I stopped by for lunch. Surprise! really quiet nowhere near full and got right in. Lunch was GREAT. This is a fantastic oyster bar. Although they are known for the "best lobster roll in Boston" GO FOR THE OYSTERS!!! I started with a half dozen (3 Wellfleet & 3 East Beach Blonde) they were out of this world... some of the best I have ever had. Also a difficult decision was the beer. They had Geary's which is a Maine beer & one of my favorites - but I was in Massachusetts so went with the Whales Tale (Nantucket brewery). I followed up the oysters with a "hot" lobster roll; lobster dipped in butter on a toasted roll. You can't even pick up the roll until you eat away at some of the large chunks of lobster claw & tail. It came with enough fries for three!! Neptune's is a bit pricy The lobster roll was good; but at $25.00 a bit more than it should be... there are many good places where you can get a very lobster good roll for $15.00 or less - might not win Best of Boston, but real good and you save $10,00. I could have easily spent that $25.00 on MORE OYSTERS

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    176
    45
    19
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Neptunes on Piggyback is the best appetizer on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Get there early - put your name on the wait list and head down the street for shopping and browsing... prepare yourself for Boston's best hot lobster roll and fried oysters on toast appetizer (Neptunes on Piggyback)... get a few of your favorite oysters on the half shell... Enjoy... best place in Boston - worth the wait... don't go with a group of more than 4 though, you'll never get in...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lobster rolls..My mouth is watering.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you want a lobster roll or fresh oysters, come here! They offer both a warm and a cold version. My wife and I both opted for the warm with lots of butter. We should have, in hindsight ordered one of each and split them.The cold one has mayo mixed with the meat. Lobster falling out of the bun! Pricey but worth it. I also had a platter of a dozen mixed oysters. Very good quality and nice description of the different types. Again, this is not a cheap place. Bring your wallet and splurge! Expect to wait a while but the staff kicks butt here and have the system down..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New England oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had heard great things about this place an was not disappointed. The oysters were very good and there was a large selection of different types. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the place was packed, its not that large, but they took my cell number and called me when a spot was ready. It was a loud close quarters kind of place, typical oyster bar, not a real sit down dinning experience so if that is what you are looking for I would try someplace else.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Do not leave Boston without eating here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

All the positive reviews are right on. You should not miss a chance to eat here. We waited in line for 10 minutes before they opened on a Saturday for lunch. We were seated at the bar as soon as we got to the door and enjoyed every single bite.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;