We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast ala Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parker's Restaurant

Parker's Restaurant
60 School St, Boston, MA 02108
6177251600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Parker's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 2,833 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Tremont St.
Transit: Green Line & Red Line to Park Street. Blue Line & Orange Line to State Station.
Description: Located inside the Omni Parker House in downtown Boston, Parker's Restaurant is your destination for fine dining in Boston. Our Executive Chef, Gerry Tice celebrates nostalgic cuisine with contemporary flair at the birthplace of Boston Cream Pie, the Parker House Roll and Boston Scrod. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast ala Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Ate breakfast here the two days we stayed in the hotel, they were in a bit of flux as they served breakfast in another room for these two days due to a quick construction process, so the service while nice was a bit harried. The oatmeal on the first day was mediocre, but the Boston Benedict on the second day was great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    88
    36
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lordgin1
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dining in a time gone by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Parker's at the Omni Parker House was an amazing treat that transports the diner to a time gone by. The beautiful chandeliers, brass railings and velvet upholstery gives the restaurants a sense of authenticity and a feel of a different era. The food is amazingly good for such a competitive area. Their signature dish of schrod was delicious and a must try item. The Boston creme pie is as authentic as it gets. The service was a bit slow and the host is all about business but well worth the time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“excellent dinner but disappointing waitperson”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Three of us had dinner here recently. We had excellent filet mignon and scallops, as well as appetizers and dessert. Unfortunately, the person who paid the bill by mistake left a tip, too small. The waitperson took the check and later returned it, throwing it on the table and asked if we wanted to speak to the management. We declined, left additional cash and departed asap. Of course, a larger gratuity was in order, but she might have been a bit more diplomatic in her appeal for it. I have previously gotten a kick out of Parker's, its old fashioned charm and its good food, but given this experience I think I will not likely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Upmarket Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Historic Restaurant within the Omni Parker Hotel. Steak was excellent and service and presentation very good. Menu was quite limited. Tasted great !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Boston Cream Pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Bottom line: We ate here solely for the Boston Cream Pie, and the pie exceeded our expectations!

My husband and I ate here on a Monday night around 6:00 and the restaurant was basically deserted, which was nice. The service was fast and we didn't have to yell over excessive noise. We loved the option to order off of the pre-theatre menu (includes a starter, entree, and dessert for a reasonable price)! Both of our meals were good, but nothing to write home about. The portions were also quite large. The next time we visit Boston, I'm sure we'll come back for the pie, but might skip the meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parker's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Parker's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.