We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Cannoli's anywhere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
257 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-2322 (North End)
617-523-3783
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,865 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Bakery, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: North End
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“One of the best Cannoli's anywhere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm an absolute cannoli junky, any great Italian pastry for that matter. I've had others around there, mentioning no other names, and others can't compare! This place is like an old world pastry shop! Lines can be really long, so try and think of early day or late yummies! If your ever in line and see an empty table, run in and sit down! They take your order and their coffee is as good as everything else! What a great place to sit and watch pastry crazed people get their goods!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    193
    52
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,309 reviews 1,309 reviews
892 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 264 cities Reviews in 264 cities
466 helpful votes 466 helpful votes
“Great pastry..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went here to grab some dessert to go with my coffee.. Grabbed some biscotti a and they were great.. Need to get there before the evening rush or you will be standing outside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went here specifically for the GF options as my 6 year old has celiac. The GF whoopie pie was delicious and my non celiac kids preferred it to the gluten ones. The GF almond muffin was dry and was tossed out. The GF chocolate chip cookie was huge and a crunchy treat. We also tried the regular cannoli, the italian butter cookies, and the tarts. The tarts and cannoli were top notch, the butter cookies the same as every deli/bakery on the East Coast. Well worth the trip, we went twice in 3 days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Modern wins - hands down! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having seen all the banter on TA regarding Mike's Pastry or Modern Pastry, we decided to try both on our recent visit (they are actually located fairly close to each other). The expectation when ordering at Mike's was that you knew what you wanted and would be ready to order when you got to the counter ... don't slow down the line! At Modern, they were very patient with the ordering process, willing to share/describe everything available on their menu (a much more enjoyable experience). And comparing the food back in our hotel room, Modern won - hands down (well, okay, my mom did prefer her cannoli from Mike's). Modern got my vote and my sister's vote! We too had fun discussing Mike's vs. Modern while waiting in line with locals and visitors - everyone has an opinion that's for sure (and now we do too ...lol!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Think about this place often!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

LOVED the lobster claw. My mom and I talk about It too often :) staff was patient with us as we took our time deciding what to order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.