We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastry..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
257 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-2322 (North End)
617-523-3783
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 92 Bakeries in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: North End
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,456 reviews
990 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Great pastry..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went here to grab some dessert to go with my coffee.. Grabbed some biscotti a and they were great.. Need to get there before the evening rush or you will be standing outside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    237
    60
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went here specifically for the GF options as my 6 year old has celiac. The GF whoopie pie was delicious and my non celiac kids preferred it to the gluten ones. The GF almond muffin was dry and was tossed out. The GF chocolate chip cookie was huge and a crunchy treat. We also tried the regular cannoli, the italian butter cookies, and the tarts. The tarts and cannoli were top notch, the butter cookies the same as every deli/bakery on the East Coast. Well worth the trip, we went twice in 3 days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Modern wins - hands down! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having seen all the banter on TA regarding Mike's Pastry or Modern Pastry, we decided to try both on our recent visit (they are actually located fairly close to each other). The expectation when ordering at Mike's was that you knew what you wanted and would be ready to order when you got to the counter ... don't slow down the line! At Modern, they were very patient with the ordering process, willing to share/describe everything available on their menu (a much more enjoyable experience). And comparing the food back in our hotel room, Modern won - hands down (well, okay, my mom did prefer her cannoli from Mike's). Modern got my vote and my sister's vote! We too had fun discussing Mike's vs. Modern while waiting in line with locals and visitors - everyone has an opinion that's for sure (and now we do too ...lol!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Think about this place often!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

LOVED the lobster claw. My mom and I talk about It too often :) staff was patient with us as we took our time deciding what to order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern Pastry or Mike's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

On our visit to the North End we were told by many to go to Mike's Pastry. We did but the line was crazy. We passed it up and kept walking. We then came by Modern Pastry and again their was a line but not as long. While waiting there was constant banter about Mikes or Modern having the best pastry. i did not have Mike's but I can tell you Modern pastry had a VERY GOOD cannoli. We asked a group of locals what they preferred and they said Modern, then others came by and said Mike's. So it sounds that if your have a hankering for a cannoli you have 2 good options in the North End. However I can only recommend Modern as the place you should go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.