We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannoli Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
257 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-2322 (North End)
617-523-3783
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 92 Bakeries in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: North End
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cannoli Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We tried them both! Mike's was good, don't get me wrong, but the traditional ricotta cannolo from Modern was out of this world. Mike's were pre-made and sitting on the counter when I walked in, but Modern's filling was piped in as I waited and was just the perfect sweet/tart combination. I eventually tried a few varieties, but the traditional with just a touch of powdered sugar was divine. I didn't even have to wait in line as a few reviewers have noted. For a guy that has never eaten one before and has no pretense when it comes to this, I have to give the nod to Modern. As an aside, the traditional was a buck less than Mike's. Just sayin'.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    237
    59
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
“Not my favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My friend likes this place better than Mike's, but I wasn't impressed. The service was great tho :) I got a Lobster tail, which is huge! Also, I got a chocolate cream cannoli and a vanilla cream cannoli. Neither of which were all that. But my friend brought me a ricotta one another time and it was good :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What can you say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Best canoli's in the US. Period. And I grew up in an Italian neighborhood in NYC. Worth the wait in line. The other baked goods are fine as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never had a bad experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I don't know why there are some bad reviews for this place. This is by far my favorite place to get Cannolis. They fill them to order and never skimp on the chocolate chips. I also love their torrone. The servers may be a bit curt, but it is always busy so I am understanding.

Definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not if i can help it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are willing to wait in line for twenty minute and have the staff keep overlooking you and dont bother to even acknowledge you ...yes this is the place to go to .Its no wonder the TIP jar seemed empty .If you are looking for a good experience stay AWAY.Off the main road there a lot of friendlier bakeries .Since the service experience ( or lack of it ) was terrible i have to rate the food and decor bad as overall the experience left a bad taste .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.