We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastry and no beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
257 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-2322 (North End)
617-523-3783
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: North End
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great pastry and no beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is just one of a kind, worth the visit, in the north end, incredible pastries and lots of direct from Italy fare...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    384
    156
    44
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Soooo Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Wish we had something like this where we live. After dinner, we wanted some dessert to take back to our hotel, so headed down the street. Mike's bakery was packed, and the cupcake that our 3 year old granddaughter saw earlier in the shop (before dinner), was now gone. We then remembered that the trolley driver said that "Modern" is where the locals go - so a few doors down on the opposite side of the street was Modern Pastry, and they had a cupcake full of sprinkles and a sugar heart on top. Guess what the granddaughter chose. The pastry shops only take cash, no credit cards. Since we had never had a Cannoli or lobster tail, we were anxious to try them. I told the lady to give me some of the most popular Cannoli and a lobster tail - soooo delicious!!! We brought 5 of the Cannolis with us home to Washington State, to share with a neighbor. I know what you are thinking....but I packed them real well, and they made it un-crushed. They were still very crisp and the filling was so good - the neighbors loved them! We are hoping to find a pastry shop locally that sells Cannoli - may have to make another trip to Boston.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Holy cannoli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Come on everyone knows modern is the real cake boss.they should have there on show the Connolli father.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“MMmmmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You don't have to wait in a long line like the "most popular" bakeshop on the same street, and the canolis are just as good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Best canolli's ever! We needed a sugar fix at aroun 9pm and we came across this pastry shop. The line up was out the door which I now know why!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.