We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastry and no beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
257 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-2322 (North End)
617-523-3783
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 92 Bakeries in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: North End
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pastry and no beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is just one of a kind, worth the visit, in the north end, incredible pastries and lots of direct from Italy fare...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    237
    59
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Soooo Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Wish we had something like this where we live. After dinner, we wanted some dessert to take back to our hotel, so headed down the street. Mike's bakery was packed, and the cupcake that our 3 year old granddaughter saw earlier in the shop (before dinner), was now gone. We then remembered that the trolley driver said that "Modern" is where the locals go - so a few doors down on the opposite side of the street was Modern Pastry, and they had a cupcake full of sprinkles and a sugar heart on top. Guess what the granddaughter chose. The pastry shops only take cash, no credit cards. Since we had never had a Cannoli or lobster tail, we were anxious to try them. I told the lady to give me some of the most popular Cannoli and a lobster tail - soooo delicious!!! We brought 5 of the Cannolis with us home to Washington State, to share with a neighbor. I know what you are thinking....but I packed them real well, and they made it un-crushed. They were still very crisp and the filling was so good - the neighbors loved them! We are hoping to find a pastry shop locally that sells Cannoli - may have to make another trip to Boston.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Holy cannoli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Come on everyone knows modern is the real cake boss.they should have there on show the Connolli father.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“MMmmmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You don't have to wait in a long line like the "most popular" bakeshop on the same street, and the canolis are just as good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Best canolli's ever! We needed a sugar fix at aroun 9pm and we came across this pastry shop. The line up was out the door which I now know why!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.