We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Pastries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Pastry Shop

Modern Pastry Shop
257 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-2322 (North End)
617-523-3783
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: North End
boston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The pastries here are great. They are all delicious and the selection is vast. You can not find a better place to get an assortment of Italian cookies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    183
    50
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“pretty good, like the competitors a little more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Pretty good and a decent selection, me and the wife tend to like a couple competitors in the area a little more thats more

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last Stop Visiting Boston today!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

After we visited a few attractions in Boston...the North End and Modern Pastry was our last stop! With a line of about 15 people ahead of us it was worth the wait. This is a CASH only store. Many wonderful Italian pastries, expresso, gelato and Italian Nouget.

We love the cannolis and sesame seed Italian cookies.

Limited seating to accomodate about 10 people.

We brought our treats home and as always they were very good and yummy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nougat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Bought every kind as gifts for people at home. They are very busy so be ready for a wait in line. This is the only sweet I bought there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG OMG OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a nice dinner and on our walk back to our hotel, we came across this place, so having the sweet tooth that I have, we popped in. The choices....very hard to decide, we bougth four truffles and I waited until I got back to the hotel to try one. OMG - although they were very pricey, these were hands down the best truffles I have ever had. The mint chocolate was to die for..... :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Modern Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.