We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up for the chicken nachos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rattlesnake Bar

Rattlesnake Bar
384 Boylston Street, Boston, MA 02116-3801 (Back Bay)
617 859 8555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #933 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for the chicken nachos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We started our Super Bowl Sunday by hitting this place. It took reservations and had some decent reviews so we thought we would give it a shot. We split the chicken nachos (which were awesome) and had a couple of drinks before we decided to move on to another venue. When we were in there, the place was pretty empty so we wanted to find somewhere with some atmosphere. However, despite our short stay, we were still raving the next day about the chicken nachos.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    10
    27
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great event at Venom Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went to an event at the Venom Lounge - the private room at the Rattlesnake. The Rattlesnake is known for its rooftop space, but I didn't realize it has a nice private room too. The Lounge is up a set of stairs from the main bar. There's an area for coats (important in winter), separate bathrooms, a good sound system, large bar, lots of tables and chairs and space for dancing. The appetizers we had were pretty good - especially the buffalo tenders and pork tacos. Servers were nice, friendly and attentive. Definitely will keep this in mind for future events.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average bar in Boston”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went there recently with friends from out of town. Good location, on Boylston street/Back Bay, plenty of seating, the rare rooftop bar. The beer options were good, as well the appetizers but the meals-- my fish tacos were overpowered by the jalapenos--a friends scollop entree had two only two scalllops and nothing else-- others did not have much to rave about the food. The cocktails were too sweet, and the wine --eh. The ambience-- kind of like a sports bar. Which is fine, if you like sports bars.

I'd only go if you needed a well located place to have a drink and some food. There are others in the area with far better ambience, alcohol and food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rattlesnake Rooftop Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our son, a New England transplant and his girlfriend led us to this gem last weekend. It was late afternoon--five PM--and though it appeared to be very crowded on the rooftop, we were seated immediately. The Sangria was refreshing and the grilled cheese--a combo of American, Brie and gorgonzola was truly to die for.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Little pricey but so tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We came here for a late night Sunday dinner. Ordered a few rounds of drinks: Beers, margaritas, sangria, this weird pina colada thing with avocado -- all good! All really strong.

For dinner we put in orders of the tuna tartar, lime chips with guacamole, duck tacos and the steak quesadilla in garlic naan. Amazing! Loved all the food.

Waitress was really sweet and friendly, let us hang out as long as we wanted - wasn't really busy being 10pm on a Sunday night. Great atmosphere on the upstairs roof deck.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattlesnake Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rattlesnake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattlesnake Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.