We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family-run italian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ricardo's Ristorante

Ricardo's Ristorante
175 North St, Boston, MA 02113-2411 (North End)
617-720-3994
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ricardo's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #689 of 2,835 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North End
Transit: Haymarket T Station (Green and Orange lines) and Government Center T Station (Green and Blue lines)
Description: Riccardo's Ristorante is located in the North End neighborhood of Boston and is a family run business which has been recognized by local and national known food critiques as one of the best authentic Italian Restaurants in Boston. Now being run by Richie Jr., Riccardo's has the same fine standards and quality of food as always. The staff is highly trained and knowledgeable about every item on the menu. Unlike other Italian restaurants in the neighborhood Ricardo's never skimps on portions. Come and visit. Renew your love for Riccardo's.
Blaine, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent family-run italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Located in North Boston along the freedom trail and just down from the Paul Revere House, this is an excellent small italian restaurant. The owner was present to greet us upon arrival and was constantly running around the restaurant during our visit to check on guests to make sure they being were enjoying their dinner and being cared for by the wait staff. The food was excellent and very authentic! Will definitely go back the next time we're in Boston!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    14
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went to this restraunt for dinner this evening. We were the only ones in the restraunt for around our first 30 minutes. With two entrees, salads and glasses of wine the bill came to $93 without tip. Below is what i liked and disliked about Ricardo's.

Pros
1) the wait staff was very nice and professional
2) the environment and tables is set up for a finer dining experience
3) no reservation needed on weekdays
4) able to sit by open windows for fresh air

Cons
1) the food was under par and not great. the chicken parm was bland and the pork was tough.
2) the pasta came out of the kitchen cold
3) considering the quality of the food i consider the price too high.

Summary
Between Ricardo's and Limoncello which is across the street i would go back to Limoncellos over returning to Ricardos. Ricardo's has nicer furnishing and tablware than other italian restraunts in the area but the food is fair at best. I would look for other places for dinner. I wouldn't be likely to return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charm and Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been to Ricardo's as part of a large group and small. Both times the service was entertaining, knowledgeable and original. My last trip, Silia I think her name was, couldn't do enough for us. She took time to talk and yet still provided excellent service It is not a fast food restaurant. Relax...enjoy watching the foot traffic or the company you are with. Their veal is so tender and their specials creative. The first time I went to Ricardo's, I was enticed in by the owner while reading the menu outside. He checked back to assure we had enjoyed are meal and even sent an after dinner drink. You know we were satisfied customers that night...and for several more. I like it for groups because you never feel rushed like you do in many other small restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go Somewhere Else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Food was average at best. With so many good places to eat in this area, don't bother with this one. If I was in some small town this would be fine food, but in the North End it is hopelessly average.
The owner is also incredibly rude and openly yelled at our waitress for offering us ice water instead of forcing the bottled water that was set out on the tables. He then sat and watched us eat our appetizers because he thought we didn't have enough to share for a group our size. The worst part is, his force is so obnoxiously loud he apparently doesn't realize it is very easy to hear him, or he just doesn't care. Either way he should get out of the service industry and do something more suitable for his personality. Our waitress did a great job under the circumstances.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner in Little Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Meal was awesome but service needed some help. Good thing we werent in a hurry.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricardo's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Ricardo's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ricardo's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.