We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessy's

Hennessy's
25 Union St, Boston, MA 02108-2406
617-742-2121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hennessy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #553 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very nice casual place to stop by for a drink or a bite to eat. Friendly staff and live music. Seems to be a favorite.......

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Don't order the fish platter.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The fish platter at $15.99 was a total rip. The scallops were tiny, the shrimp were flavorless and the fish was overcooked. I ordered a similar platter at Sunset Cafe that blew it out of the water for a dollar less. I pointed it out to the server who didn't care, then asked for the manager, who also didnt care. They took 20% off, which shows how much they didnt care. A decent restaurant would have comped it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not Just a Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was surprised when we went to Hennessy's. I expected to see just another Bar, but I found a clean, establishment that had surprisingly good food. I will be returning on our next trip to Boston. Staff were friendly food and drinks reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stinks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I tried to eat here but had to pass made it through the door but the saturated bar like order killed it. I couldn't even get to ordering and had to turn around and leave. Dark, no décor or atmosphere, and dirty.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It's a great Irish pub! The service is fantastic, the atmosphere is nice and they have a very good choice of beer on tap and every liquer you can think of. The bartender that served us was very very friendly with such a sweet irish accent. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hennessy's also viewed

 

Been to Hennessy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hennessy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.