We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel tucked away on Merrimac Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxer Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Boxer Boston to your Saves list
The Boxer Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great hotel tucked away on Merrimac Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

For a last minute hotel pick, we didn't go wrong with The Boxer Boston.

The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. We checked in well past midnight and needed to do some quick food shopping so the front desk associate directed us to the 7/11 around the corner which had everything we needed. Upon check-out, a cab was promptly called for us.

The room was clean and comfortable; we slept like new-born babes carried aloft into blissful slumber by the soft and spacious bed.

Location-wise, we found everything to be within a 10-15 minute walk so we didn't even need to figure out the CharlieCard kiosks.

All in all, highly recommended if you're in Boston!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    140
    46
    9
    8
See reviews for
62
158
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location of this hotel is very good for TD Garden and Quincy Market both walkable. The building itself is old but you can't tell by the rooms. The rooms are clean and comfortable however, very small. We heard no hallway nor elevator noise. I would stay here again especially if I were attending an event at the "Gaarden"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at the Boxer Boston with a friend for a weekend getaway. I found a great deal on a third party website. We were pleasantly surprised with our stay. The location was very convenient for exploring the city with easy access to Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, subways and the airport. The room was spacious with a king-sized bed, double aspect windows and a separate sitting area. A safe, fridge, coffee maker and Wifi were included too. We had breakfast (not included) at the restaurant downstairs one morning which was disappointing in terms of quality and value. Otherwise, we were very happy with our stay and I would definitely stay at The Boxer Boston again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Boxer Boston is a very nice hotel. The rooms are up to date and clean. The hotel staff is quite friendly and helpful as well. The hotel is close to the North End Neighborhood of Boston and is a few blocks away from the Freedom Trail.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The rooms are refurbished in gray industrial chic/restoration hardware style. Our 2 double bed room was too small for such big heavy furniture. No real closet, and hard to maneuver and use the the one real usable drawer. From one bed, there was a useless metal post in front of the TV screen. But, beds comfy, good bath with shower only. Good free Wi-Fi, and responsive front desk, free newspapers. Near the sports arena and dozens of sports bars, short walk to Faneuil Hall area in one direction, Italian neighborhood resaurants in the other direction.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! And more so for your review! We look forward to seeing you again in Boston!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I would have rated it higher, but room size with lack of storage and staff attitudes prompted the lower rating. Nice boutique hotel in close proximity to the North End and Faneuil Hall. Stayed here in June for 3 nights. Rooms are very small and it was difficult to walk between the end of the bed and the desk/closet. I wish the closet was enclosed. There was approximately 16 inches of a steel bar to hang your clothes from. The honor bar was below the closet area on top of the only drawer to place clothes in and was in the way. Appreciated the room safe and refrigerator. Loved the bathroom! It was very nicely appointed and had a nice sized shower. The desk clerks need training. Some were very professional and some had major attitudes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear TRIPSTER077,

Thank you for your feedback! Housed in an historic building in downtown Boston, we do our absolute best in accommodating the need for space (believe me!) I certainly hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise and I appreciate your candid review. We look forward to seeing you in Boston soon!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

After a long day traveling , I arrived in Boston nearly six hour later than planned. It was late when my wife and I finally made it to the hotel only to learn that there was allegedly a maintenance issue with the room we were scheduled for so they had to give us a different room.
My skeptical half believes that, because we were so late, they gave our room to someone else. Leaving us kind of up a creek.
So we get to our room, open the door and get a glimps. It had a small queen size bed with three out of four sides blocked in. The girl apologized at the onset and said that if the queen was too small, I could sleep in the bunk bed. I don't think so. I have been married for more than 20 years, I sleep best when I sleep with my wife. I am also 50 years old, I don't do bunk beds. But, we were wiped out, so we tried, mostly unsuccessfully, to sleep.
The next morning, I explained to the front desk that I had booked a king room and that while the room they gave us is "cute", it wasn't going to work for us.
They had already planned to put us into an appropriate room.
That afternoon, our belongings were in the new, much better room, along with a nice bottle of wine, coupons for free breakfast and apology letter from the management.
The other room didn't go empty for long, a younger couple with a child got the room and it was a much better fit for them then us.
The hotel is, as others have said, is very well placed. Access to anywhere is quite easy.
The folks at the front desk are very friendly and very accommodating.
The price was right, the initial room scare was taken care of, the whole experience turned from what I expected to be bad to, really, more than good. It was excellent.
Thank you Boxer Boston.

Room Tip: If you want to be sure that you don't get the room with the bunk bed, make that clear. The bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear MontanaKevin,

I absolutely love it when our team can turn around an inconvenient situation- its a better testament to their outstanding service oriented goals than a perfect stay sometimes! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make it better and to serve you in the best way possible.

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxer Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.