We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Boutique hotel, small dark rooms, but cute” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxer Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Boxer Boston to your Saves list
The Boxer Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Small Boutique hotel, small dark rooms, but cute”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We chose to stay here before we went on a cruise. It is a good location and easy to find.
If you like small boutique hotels this is great. Check in was great and all the employees are nice.
Breakfast is ok,cold toast,hard butter, but SUPER slow on the saturday we were there. One server and full tables.We ate in Sunday and it was better but not as full as Saturday. Server was very nice.
We were offered a room at check in which was early, I asked if we waited if we could get an upgrade to a larger room. She said all the rooms are the same size,so we got the room.
But I read a respond to another small room thing and the manager said there are different sizes, HUM. Bummed
And we noticed on the floor plans there were bigger rooms.
The room was SMALL and dark. They painted it dark gray. And yes your in the city and you have city noise, even with the good windows.
Im a travel agent and Im always looking for the right place for my clients.
We loved the city and the bus tour.

Price is good and I would give it a try again, and get a bigger room they had, but didn't have.

Room Tip: Top floor back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear clscorz,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and enjoy our property! I so wish we would have been able to accomodate your request and please feel free to reach out to me directly when you are in Boston again so that I may ensure a larger room for you. We hope you had a great cruise and a safe trip back home to South Carolina!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    140
    46
    9
    8
See reviews for
62
158
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went to Boston for our 25th anniversary and stayed at the The Boxer and were not disappointed. we had a couple minor problems but I look at how the problems were handled more than the problems themselves and the staff were quick to our needs and had the issues resolved and made our stay at the hotel great. the Staff are friendly and very helpful if you need to know information about Boston.

Room Tip: we were on the ninth floor room 909 small but very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Megtot,

Thank you so much for your response! We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and it is absolutely the service of the staff that make a good stay a great one. We certainly hope we will have the pleasure to host you again- come and see us soon!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a nicely renovated hotel. The rooms are small and the mattress platform is too large for the mattress. The platform sticks out past the end of the mattress and if you're not careful, you'll leave this hotel with bruised shins. The end of the mattress should be brought down to be even with the end of the platform and something should be placed at the head of the bed to prevent the mattress from being able to slide toward the head of the bed.

Though small, the room is nicely appointed. I agree with another reviewer. There should be more light in the room. There is a wide choice of snacks already in the room. They are a bit pricey, but it beats going out for something. I also found the restaurant to be good. More variety would be great and more desert options (I believe there was only ice cream).

All the staff were helpful. The parking is very expensive. Valet parking was over $40 and there was an option for public parking, but that was over $30 and was a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. I appreciate all the details! This is exactly what we need to hear to make adjustments and get better at what we do. I agree on the beds in some of the rooms. We're working with the designer on a permanent fix. I will admit I'm the victim of a couple bruises myself. We hope to have this resolved by the end of the year. We have already addressed the concern in some of the rooms by installing smaller bed frames. Lighting was another concern we read about. This is being corrected as we speak. Brighter bulbs are being installed and we're confident these changes will eliminate this concern moving forward. We also just did a tasting for some added desert that we feel our customers will love. This new items include PB&J Fritters and Homemade Ice Cream Cookie sandwiches. I fortunately had the opportunity to try all these before being on the menu! :) We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me in the future so I can personally arrange your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great place to stay while in Boston. Good service and close walk to everything.
Negative points:
1. Room is way to dark, not enough lighting and the walls are painted dark gray which makes it even darker.
2. The room is so small that you bump your shins on furniture trying to walk around the room.

Even with these two problems I would stay here again. The staff is friendly and the service good. Room is very clean and modern. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for the review! We appreciate the feedback. You will be pleased to hear that we are currently in the process of switching out the lightbulbs in all guest rooms for brighter LED bulbs. We have heard this concern before and decided a change was indeed necessary. We hear you loud and clear on the bed frames as well. We had the hotel designers come in to inspect and they are looking into another solution for the frame in the rooms where this may be obtrusive. Honest guest feedback is all we need to hear and we'll always make the necessary changes to ensure all of our guests have a great experience. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Booked a junior suite and found it to have plenty of room, great shower & bathroom. The location can't be beat. There is a T station very close, a trolley pickup around the corner and a quick walk to the TD Garden! We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and everyone was helpful and friendly!
We hadn't been to Boston before, and loved our trip! Beautiful historic city and the World Series Fever was contagious!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review! We're glad we were able to provide such a memorable experience on your Honeymoon! Boston is a great city to visit on any occasion. Now we just have to see you every year on your anniversary! :) We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My sister and i stayed at this hotel this past week.
The room was extremely small. No closet, no dresser.
Just 1 drawer attached to a shelving unit that held 5 hangars.
no bathtub just a shower. Room was dark grey in colour which made it look even smaller.The staff at the desk were great and very helpful with directions. The location of the hotel was close to the Freedom Trail and other historical areas.Its close to the subway and commuter trains as well.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you do not mind how small the rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience! We appreciate the feedback from such a seasoned TripAdvisor reviewer like yourself. We have several different room layouts due to the unique shape of our building (think Flatiron Building in NYC!). Some rooms are smaller than others. It varies by room type reserved. We will update your guest profile with this information and ensure you get a larger room type on your next visit regardless of which room you secure. Our #1 goal is guest satisfaction. I'm very pleased to hear the customer service was up to par. We're making strides everyday to get better at what we do. I will certainly share your comments with the entire team. We look forward to having you bak as our guest in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Choose the Boxer based on TripAdvisor reviews and its location. The room was small and the bed was quite comfortable. No street noise and wifi worked well. A luggage stand would have been nice; we had to keep two suitcases on the floor. Another towel hook in the bathroom would have been nice too. The restaurant had good food and the wait staff was helpful and friendly. Housekeeping overlooked our room after the first night, but there was no urgent need for cleaning or new linen/towels. As frequent travelers, we have learned to accept that sometimes things go wrong. The hotel is very well located for visiting downtown Boston. We walked the Freedom Trail and roamed Boston neighborhoods from this base.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks for writing about your recent experience at The Boxer! This is the second review in a row form such a seasoned traveler like yourself. I see we had some shortcomings on your stay and I do appreciate your patience and understanding. Nevertheless we should have been more thorough when refreshing and inspecting rooms. I'm not one for excuses so I won't provide any. We will use this as a learning experience and make adjustments to ensure this does not happen not just to you but any guest in the future. Thanks for the comments on the hooks and luggage racks. Very good points. We will review internally and look to make improvements. This is exactly the type of feedback we need to get better at what we do. I appreciate the time taken and I look forward to having you back as out guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxer Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.