We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time To Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxer Boston

Save Saved
You added The Boxer Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
University Package
Ranked #37 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“First Time To Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff is polite and helpful. Rooms are cozy and very clean. Just perfect for my husband and I to have a place to rest our feet after a day of exploring the city. We arrived early but they had a room available for us so we were able to check in right away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    58
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
54
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just right for 4 nights in Boston for a friend and I.

Conveniently located near to public transport, bars and restaurants.

The hotel is clean and nicely furnished with great staff.

Space within the room we had was at a premium and I think better use could be made of that which does exist by better placement of the furniture but it's a small quibble.

Gym isn't particularly well equipped but as someone that runs I had nice options around Boston itself and would rather that than a treadmill any day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not going to give a full review yet (since my stay isn't until next month), but the customer service at this hotel is amazing. Needed help in booking my room and they were beyond accommodating. Thank you Serena and Emily! I look forward to staying with you next month!

-Nicole T.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was above and beyond our expectations for the price we paid. We stayed here two nights on a vacation to Boston to learn more about the history. It was in a great location to explore the city, being near T stops for the Orange, Green, Blue and a little farther to the Red line. It is easily walk-able distance to the beautiful North end as well as the gorgeous Beacon Hill area.

We stayed in king deluxe room on the 9th floor. We had an awesome view and the room was beautiful. Everything was done with such great taste. I had seen some reviews complain about the small size but we did not really notice it or want more room. It was quiet and clean and so comfortable. The staff was very helpful and I would definitely stay here again no questions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Very nice meal at reasonable prices at the attached restaurant. Great staff there as well. Room amazingly quiet for being in Center City on a busy street. Our room had very small with a bunk bed for the second person. There was no room even for a bedroom stand to place your clock on for either bed. My biggest problem was if there was something in the room that caused my allergies to be extremely aggravated making the stay highly unpleasant even though the room was very clean & newly updated. Luckily we have not planned to spend much of our two days in the room & the restaurant/bar was a pleasant place to hang out in the evening.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The title of my review highlights what I expect from a hotel when I travel: cleanliness and quiet are imperative, and The Boxer did not fail us. In fact, it exceeded some of the more popular "corporate" hotels in both categories. Likewise for how comfortable our room was. Most hotel mattresses leave my back stiff and achey, but the king-sized bed was the most comfortable we'd experienced in a long time, and the king-sized pillows were soft (as compared to the usual bulky masses that leave my neck stiff in the morning). The hotel itself is a convenient walk to the T as well as to Fanueil Hall and the North End. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. For a "boutique hotel," The Boxer exceeded my expectations; I knew it would be charming, but was so pleasantly surprised by our experience. Our room had a Keurig coffee maker, and I must mention the complimentary Wifi -- most hotels charge quite a bit for this luxury! Many of the reviews of this hotel whine about how small the rooms are. We didn't vacation in Boston just to sit around in a hotel room! For us, the size was irrelevant as it met all of our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa V, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review- we look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Vanessa Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just stayed a weekend at The Boxer in order to go to a Red Sox game. The décor was well done and the rooms small but efficient. The room was quiet and the only noise I heard was from people in the hall---no noise of flushing toilets, showers running, street noise, or sounds from other rooms. When I arrived the booking computer system was down----the whole system for all hotels---and therefore there was a delay in getting checked in. I have to compliment Stanley, the one staff person who seemed, throughout our stay, to have the concept of always make the customer happy and he got us free drinks. He seemed to be everywhere during the weekend. Aside from him staffing seemed somewhat inconsistent----very pleasant people and others who did not seem to care. One complaint I had was getting the room temperature set. There were no extra blankets which would have made it easier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel
Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxer Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.