We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxer Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Boxer Boston to your Saves list
The Boxer Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manor Park, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Jewelry was stolen!! Do not bring any valuables or anything of sentimental value to this hotel because it will be stolen by the housekeeping staff! We were in town for a wedding and had several bad experiences during our weekend at The Boxer. First, the concierge lied and told us the bridge was closed so we ended up an hour early for the wedding rehearsal in 100 degree heat because the bridge really wasn't closed; the cab company just had another fare to pick up and didn't want to wait for the time we had requested to be picked up. Next, the room was dirty (found a used band-aid on the floor) and the bar/restaurant was only open during the day. Also, the rooms were not sound-proof at all and you could hear the elevator, noises in the hall and the neighboring room opening their blinds. And lastly, a small box of jewelry with a great deal of sentimental value went missing. We called the hotel and they checked the room and talked to the housekeeper but we were told they didn't have it. I know it was last in that room and am terribly disappointed in the lack of integrity of both the management and housekeeping staff. I will never return to this hotel and recommend staying someplace else if you are visiting Boston. There are plenty of other great options in the city and any of them would be better than this shameful, dishonest place.

Room Tip: Do not go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, Assistant General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Dana K,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We take our online reputation very seriously and wanted to quickly and personally address these issues through this portal in addition to our conversation yesterday.

Our seasoned concierges do their best on staying up to date with any obstacle that could delay a guest and it is with the best intentions that you were informed of the bridge closing. We utilize a multitude of different taxi cab companies in the city, each one taking the fastest and most convenient route to the passengers destination.

After our conversations yesterday regarding the jewelry, I do want to elaborate that we do everything in our power to recover any property that is left in a guest room and we promote honesty and integrity with all of our team members and have a long standing loyal team who we have great confidence in. We also offer guests secure in room safes and operate strong security measures within the property, 24 hours a day.

Please accept my apologies that your experience did not meet our high standards of service and product and know that I am reachable at any time via the cell phone number provided during our conversations over the weekend.

Thank you
Vanessa Vitale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    117
    42
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
116
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenox, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Boxer has to be one of the great additions to the Boston hotel landscape. The new look and location are perfect. I was there on business and it was close to everything that I needed.The look of the rooms and public space were stunning. The colors and design fit in perfectly with the West End neighborhood.. The food & beverage was spot on....room service was prompt and well done, and the bistro style restaurant was a great find!!!
Better than the look and feel was the level of service and the attention to detail. From the valet on arrival to the front desk I was greeted by nothing but smiles!!!....The Boxer is something special.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Zekepa,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Boston at The Boxer hotel. We sincerely look forward to your next visit with us.

Warmly,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Recently refurbished, The Boxer is located in the West End neighborhood in easy walking distance from Boston Garden and Massachusetts General hospital. The staff is friendly and the restaurant provides a reasonably priced menu of "just enough" choices in both food and wine. The hotel is near a major T stop (train) - the immediately surrounding restaurant choices are limited. This is a well located, good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear MBChalk,

We are most appreciative of your review of The Boxer on Trip Advisor. Thank you for taking the time to feature the hotel's prime neighborhood location and restaurant, Finch.

Sincerely,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We cannot review The Boxer and its staff highly enough. They impressed us from the moment we arrived (about 5 hrs before check in-they got us in a room right away). They did our laundry for us when they discovered we needed a laundry facility. When I got sick, they helped us get a prescription filled and they consistently offered hot tea & chicken soup. When I was better, they brought up a complimentary fruit tray! Special thanks to Reynaldo and Lorese who went far beyond what you'd expect for excellent service. Location only 2 blocks from the T, 3-4 from Hanover Street (little Italy where you find Mike's Pastry) and 1 from TD Gardens.

Room Tip: Check out pics of the exterior...the building dates from 1904 and has a unique, triangular shape. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear CaliforniaCathryn,

It is never fun to fall ill while traveling and we were happy to do everything in our power to remedy the situation. It is wonderful to hear how well our staff took care of you. Both Ronaldo and Lorese, as well as the team that works hard behind the scenes to support them, are ecstatic to hear the spectacular impact they made.

Thank you for your kind comments. It is so appreciated when a guest takes the time to share their experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Boxer soon.

Warm Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked into this hotel when it was the Bulfinch, we were notified of the change of name the day before we arrived. It is very close to TD Garden and to the train transport. The hotel has been through renovations and our room was great. The bathroom was very small, but excellently renovated with space maximised for storage. Nice linen, including on the bed. Bed was very comfortable and the room was painted a soft grey/blue with a stenograph on the wall. We ate in the café on the ground floor each day and the meals were good and well priced. There was use of a PC for free internet just next to reception and this was very handy. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, advising about the surrounding area without prompting. Housekeeping was good and the room was kept very clean. We were never bothered by noise from other guests or staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Kramax,

We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy your visit at The Boxer. Our team is dedicated to creating memorable guest experiences, from the design and color scheme within the guest room to the friendly staff and delicious dining option at finch. Thank you for noticing these efforts and sharing your comments.

Kind Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a night out just to get away to the city. The staff was very friendly, the price was not bad considering its in the city. I haven't been to the north end before so we wanted to try a nice italian place and just a 5 minute walk away you could find a street full of itialian restaurants, just wakling down the street will make you hungry. The decor in the hotel was modern, I didn't eat at the restaurant there but it looked nice. The room we stayed in was a junior suite and it was clean and fairly spacious with good views of the city. I only have two complaints, first one is that we waited 15 minutes for vallet parking to come out before going inside to find out he was on lunch, and second is that we had an included continental breakfast because my fiance is in the military... but the continental breakfast consisted of a fruit/ pre-packaged pastry of their choice, I would have liked to pick a bagel or muffin or something but you don't get a choice they kind of just throw a couple things in a to go box I didn't even bother trying the pastry it looked gross. Overall a pretty nice place.

Room Tip: Corner suites on higher floors are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Agkg7,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip down to the city. Thank you for your glowing comments regarding the room, staff, and location. We are always striving to improve our services and we find our guest comments to be an invaluable tools in this endeavor. Please know that our continental breakfast options have been upgraded to far more delectable items.

Our oversize-windowed junior suites certainly do offer splendid views of Boston. We look forward to hosting your next trip down to The Boxer Boston.

Sincerely,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I called to inquire about reservations, I was made to feel welcome. Reservations was a series of 'yeses' (allowed our dog, last minute availability, early check-in) with a genuine interest in being of service. We arrived, early, to helpful staff and then our well appointed room. Perfection. On to breakfast downstairs: excellent meal a shirt walk to the T and we were on our way to explore Boston. But also on foot we too were able to get to experience so much. Every step of the way the staff and the hotel itself made us feel comfortable and cared for. I know I'm gushing, but we stayed at some doozies of hotels, for comparable prices, during our New England road trip. The Boxer is a stand out. I'd absolutely return here and confidently recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxerandFinch, General Manager at The Boxer Boston, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Anne,

It sounds as if you had a lovely time experiencing all that Boston has to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at The Boxer. We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect, from your "yes" filled first call, through breakfast, and beyond. We certainly hope to welcome you all (dog, too) back soon to collect more Boston travel stories.

Warmest Regards,
Emily A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boxer Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boxer Boston

Address: 107 Merrimac St, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Business Hotel in Boston
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boxer Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Boxer Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Bulfinch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxer Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.