We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Irish Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kinsale

The Kinsale
2 Center Plaza, Government Center, Boston, MA 02108 (Downtown)
(617)742-5577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #626 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I was in town visiting a family member and we met him at this place per his recommendation. It was a great place, nice spacious atmosphere, good service and great food. Two of us ordered Reuben, which were amongst the best I've ever had. The corned-beef was very tasty, and adequately seasoned. It was also 25 cent wing night, so we ordered a handful of wings with their Gold Fever sauce. It was described as a honey mustard/bbq mix. It was quite tasty and we almost cancelled our meals and ordered more wings. Other members in my party got the clam chowder and a blue cheese burger, which were both described as 'quite tasty.' We were there on the New Years Day holiday, so it was quite empty as many of the downtown businesses were shut. However, it apparently gets very crowded during the weekday after-business happy hour, so be sure to come at a good time!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    37
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loooooooooooooooved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We were on a girlfriend's getaway and decided to go there after our facials! We sat at the bar and tasted the most magnificent beers/ales and met very interesting people. The atmosphere is Irish, and relaxed and fun and the staff is attentive. We split a lunch special and it was yummy!

Can't wait to go back, honestly! Hopefully for another Girlfriend Getaway!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Irish pub in the heart of Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I went to Kinsale a few nights back with some friends for a birthday dinner, and I'd say overall it was a great meal. They have pretty extensive food and drink menus. I went for the pulled pork sandwich and a Wachusett Blueberry. The pulled pork sandwich was a bit on the dry side (could've used more BBQ sauce), but was pretty tasty. The french fries that came on the side were great, though.

For dessert we shared a few different dishes. The strawberry shortcake made with two homemade donuts was delicious! We also really enjoyed the frozen mud pie and the bread pudding. A great way to end the meal.

The atmosphere at the restaurant is also pretty cool. There were Irish shields hanging up behind our table, and there are other knick knacks decorating the walls that make you feel like you're in Ireland. Looking forward to going again and trying the full Irish breakfast.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“New to beacon hill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just recently moved to the beacon hill area and we have been to kinsale many times! The atmosphere is awesome, food delicious (especially the crab cake sandwich), and staff great as well!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue and Service, But an Off Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our family came to eat here on a Sunday afternoon. I've known the Kinsale as a very, very busy place during the week, so I thought it might be fun to bring our son before he headed back to college.

We made reservations, but they were unnecessary: seating was wide open and we could choose where we wanted to go. Two menus were available to us: the Sunday brunch menu (available from opening until about 2pm with the traditional American and Irish offerings), and the regular lunch menu -- both are contained in the same menu, so you could pick whatever your heart desired.

Our waitress was new, but she was open about what she knew and what she didn't (wines), so we could definitely work with that as she was attentive and a good listener. Food came out fairly quickly after ordering, as well as the drinks (including, I must add, Guinness from the tap -- just like Ireland).

We ordered a variety of food from the menu. My daughter got the Irish breakfast (the usual stuff: eggs, bacon, mushrooms, sausage, etc), two of us got the Irish Stout Stew, one fish, one steak tips, and one Shephard's Pie. The steak tips, breakfast, and Shephard's Pie were outstanding and very filling. The Irish Stout Stew was very good and could fill you up for a week, but had some very tough and sinewy pieces of beef in it that made an otherwise OUTSTANDING dish sometimes downright revolting. The fish had a bone in it that, once brought to the attention of our waitress and then the manager, was taken off the bill for us with profuse apologies. We can work with this.

Overall, while this was not probably the best representation of what the Kinsale can offer, we experienced enough good service and tasty food to try it another time when it might be busier. I would not hesitate to return and try the stew again -- maybe after the beef has had a chance to braise for a bit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kinsale also viewed

 

Been to The Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kinsale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.