We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Bar

City Bar
61 Exeter St. (Boylston St.), The Lenox Hotel, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)
617-536-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Kihei
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Ate dinner there once and breakfast twice. Service was excellent, and food was good, thou not outstanding.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Loved eating here. The food was always prepared as requested and the menu was varied with several choices for each course.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to relax and have a good cocktail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I think the title says it all. I just loved it. Again the staff was overly professional and lovely. I was there every evening I stayed at the Lenox and just had the best cocktails. It's a nice atmosphere, I love the bar display, great bottles of all sorts and shapes, the picture between the two parts of the bar representing ladies walking along the sea side in the 1920's reminded me of Biarritz in France and the music's selection was just adequate to the nice ambiance. Just one thing if you seat on the sofa, as it's just under the air conditioning unit, it might feel a bit chilli when it's not too hot outside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Small but great vibe! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went there twice. Had the pear martini (yum) and my gf the pom martini and liked it. Also had the ginger peach and it was delicious too. Had the mushroom pizza, so good! Large portion for $12. Friend had meatballs, yummy but small portion. Also had the fried clams which I didnt love but think I'm just not a clam person.

Service was a little slow the first night, better the second. Drinks were around $13 each. Very urban feel to it hence its name. Located in Lennox hotel. Solas Pub is there too. Didn't try it but heard it was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food Good -Pity about some staffs attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Brilliant Sliders Burgers, and Pizzas , Deserts & Portions big, some of then younger staff very rude and couldn't care less attitude was not nice

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Bar also viewed

 

Been to City Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.