We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique pizza experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Umberto

Galleria Umberto
289 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-1810 (North End)
617-227-5709
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 2,865 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $4
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Neighborhood: North End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North End
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A unique pizza experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

How can a place that is only open Mon-Sat 11-3 and serves only five or six items on the menu, provides just two people (both at the counter) to take orders and most days has lines that take 30 minutes or more to navigate be so amazing? Well when it's Galleria Umberto, a local Boston legacy, you have the answer. The place hasn't changed in decades. It's not fancy, but there are plenty of seats, however first you have to navigate the lines which can be 50 deep or more for their cheese only Sicilian pizza, made with a fantastic crust and amazing slightly chunky, bright red colored homemade sauce (may well be a pomodoro). The calzones are amazing, the best I have ever had and I am not a calzone fan because they are just too much dough..these are perfect. Soft and light on the dough and packed with mounds of spinach and cheese, as well as offering 3-4 other types of calzones.

At 2 PM (usually like clockwork), they announced the last tray of pizza for the day...thankfully my wife had jumped back into line to get more and bring it home! Yup, not only is the food good, but they create a marketing buzz by only making so much pizza per day.

A tour guide proudly brought his group in and announced that this was voted GQ Magazine's 2009 pick for best pizza in America and at $1,65 for a slice of pizza and $4.75 for a calzone..wow, what a deal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    27
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Funny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Go there for lunch...prepare to wait at least 15 minutes...take a few slices and get out. It' good, it's a classic I guess...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Cheap prices, but long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

As one other reviewer noted, this is a no frills restaurant. Serving sicilian slices (no toppings), paninis, pizettes, arancinis, and calzones. Nothing is made to order. The price is a bargain at $1.55 a slice, but is it worth a line out the door? It was noon on a Monday in June (we passed by many restaurants with no lines). No a/c just ceiling fans and it was warm inside.

Lots of regulars go here and lots of take out. I am glad I went for my first time at North End but I waited about 10-15 minutes or so for two slices and an arancini $3 (good but not something I would order again). I am rating the place very good for the value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Old School Pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Only a cabbie would know:
After leaving Logan Airport and hungry, our cabbie took us to this location. I'm glad we got there just after 11:30am bc the line didn't take long to grow. The locals are there and this place takes you back in time when only the Food is what mattered, and that's what makes the pricing and taste so good. My son is very picky and loved the cheese pizza. I ordered the ham and salami calzone that melted in the mouth.
The happiest person was our cabbie that got 2 slices and a coke as an extra tip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Should have stuck with just pizza and paninis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Should have stuck with pizza and paninis. They were excellent. Spinach in calzones tasted like ot was out of a can and aranchini was very bland and underseasoned

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Galleria Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Umberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.