We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap prices, but long wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Umberto

Galleria Umberto
289 Hanover St, Boston, MA 02113-1810 (North End)
617-227-5709
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $4 - $4
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Neighborhood: North End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North End
Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Cheap prices, but long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

As one other reviewer noted, this is a no frills restaurant. Serving sicilian slices (no toppings), paninis, pizettes, arancinis, and calzones. Nothing is made to order. The price is a bargain at $1.55 a slice, but is it worth a line out the door? It was noon on a Monday in June (we passed by many restaurants with no lines). No a/c just ceiling fans and it was warm inside.

Lots of regulars go here and lots of take out. I am glad I went for my first time at North End but I waited about 10-15 minutes or so for two slices and an arancini $3 (good but not something I would order again). I am rating the place very good for the value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    64
    18
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old School Pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Only a cabbie would know:
After leaving Logan Airport and hungry, our cabbie took us to this location. I'm glad we got there just after 11:30am bc the line didn't take long to grow. The locals are there and this place takes you back in time when only the Food is what mattered, and that's what makes the pricing and taste so good. My son is very picky and loved the cheese pizza. I ordered the ham and salami calzone that melted in the mouth.
The happiest person was our cabbie that got 2 slices and a coke as an extra tip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Should have stuck with just pizza and paninis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Should have stuck with pizza and paninis. They were excellent. Spinach in calzones tasted like ot was out of a can and aranchini was very bland and underseasoned

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tujunga, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“the Basic Basic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A restaurant could not possibly be any more basic than this place. Absolutley no frills. Go to the front counter and order your pizza...well, not exactly, that would be tell the counter man how many pieces you want because the only choice is cheese...but it is delicious! (As good as we had in Naples, Italy...the rest of Italy was not so good.) Take it to a table, eat it and leave.
Rustic, Basic, Charming...a must do in Boston.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have been going to Galleria Umberto for as long as I can remember. This is one of the few places in the North End where I can still order my food in Italian. The pizza is simple, only cheese, but it is delicious. The quality has slipped a bit on the arancini but they are still very good. The prices here cannot be beat. Be prepared to wait in a line that goes out the door, but it is well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleria Umberto also viewed

 

Been to Galleria Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Umberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.